Plan -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-429-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-plan

My mother keeps asking me, "what's the plan for today?" but we don't have much of a plan for today. Yesterday was the day that we had lots of plans. And we did them all. Today the only plan is, "Brendan has a show, and you're going to see it."

Of course, I rather suspect that my parents don't entirely enjoy seeing me perform. I dunno. Maybe it's that this is what I was doing as a kid, and they expected whatever it was to be bigger and more meaningful as an adult... or even that what I did as a kid seemed more meaningful, and I've taken steps backward. Well, part of the difficulty is, as a kid I got to steer the ship and make the art I wanted to without worrying about the audience. Now, I'm making stuff I like to make and that the audience... nah, I making silly excuses. The truth of the matter is, there's plenty of support for kids making stuff, and that all dries up as an adult. I can still make stuff that says something about the world I'm in, but finding communities to support that kind of work requires its own effort, and so time spent finding those communities is time not spent making art. While time spent making art with people I love, even if it's not scripted to say the most nuanced, layered, deepest something about the world we live in and doesn't necessarily inspire folks to change their world, and instead just lets them giggle for an hour or so and be with other people experiencing joy is time well spent.

Sort:  

Enjoy your time with your friends. Merry Christmas. 🎄⛄💕

Congratulations @improv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71