One Year -5minutefreewrite (OSIS)

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-225-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-one-year

It's been not quite a year for me on Steemit. I've shared a freewrite every day since I began doing them... which was more than 225 days ago, but less than 365... Hard to look things up, sometimes.

I've shared a few thoughts. Some behind the scenes about my acting career. Some political stuff.

And, of course, Punday.

What else? Anything? Oh, yeah. Gentle Werewolf episodes, of course.

What's funny is that, beyond a certain minimum, the amount of excellence... no, who cares.

OH yeah! And I tried to start Open Source Interactive Stories. It didn't get off the ground, but I still think it's a good idea. Maybe I'll make a concerted effort again soon. I think they could be a fantastic way to experience Steemit. I'll reiterate the idea.

Someone begins a story... I mean, this is already happening a lot.... and someone else continues the story...
I think the key element that was the idea I began with....

Boy, lots of ellipses. I'll say what my idea was, and I'll acknowledge that since then, other people have done similar things, but not the exact same thing.

OSIS: First of all you write a story and tag it with that. Also, in the first chapter you link to an explanation of how OSIS works, how others can contribute, plus tips and tricks (I happen to have written one)

The first chapter introduces a main character or characters. We might see the beginning of the Heroes Journey. The chapter ends with the character(s) making a choice. It can be an open-ended choice, but it should be clear that the characters need to be active in order for the story to continue, but their decision/action is not in that chapter.

Then, a reader/writer (could even be the same person to have written the first chapter) writes a new post that begins with the characters taking action, and follows with the consequences of that action until the characters reach another decision-making point (or the consequences of that action ended the story). After posting, including a tag OSIS, and a link to the beginning of the story, they drop their link, along with a sentence about what choice the characters make on the previous chapter's post.

Any reader/writer can insert a different choice after any chapter. So the first chapter might have 3 branches coming off of it, and each of those might have several. Some branches will terminate the story (probably). Some will lead us on a merry epic journey. Hopefully contributors will follow The Heroes Journey with at least a few branches.

Yay!

That wound up being longer than a 5 minute freewrite

oneyear.png

Sort:  

It is a lot like the we-Write or the We-All write. Do you want to flesh out the rules and we do it for 1 year of the Daily Freewrite?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61784.55
ETH 3389.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52