Monkey Wedding -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-215-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-monkey-s-wedding

monkeywedding.jpg

Monkey. I'm sure we're not the only ones to call our kiddo "monkey"... and I love the smell of jasmine, so I can imagine that he'd have some jasmine at his wedding.... there, I've justified the prompt AND the picture!

Monkey wedding money wedding. MONKEY WEDDING...

I guess that was a freaudian slip? I don't really associate money with weddings, though our culture does. Everything from how much they cost to various cultural traditions of giving money to the couple and buying and selling people with dowries and so on...

But our wedding was mostly just getting friends to gather for a big party, and sure, parties cost money, but they needn't be as expensive as all that. @stinawog wore her grandma's dress, altered by her sister to fit her, and I wore a vest that her sister made for me.

And we paid for food, but we enlisted the help of our friends to prepare it. And we had the event at my folk's house.

And yes, some of the gifts were cash. But there was also a pillow and stuffed animals that a friend had made for us.

And we paid for some entertainment, but the amount we gave him only kept him there for 2 hours of the reception. After that, our friends shared songs and we played board games.

Anyways. Good wedding!

Sort:  

If I ever get married, I want share songs and play board games with friends too!

That does sound amazing!

The hubs and I are such simple people now, that your wedding would be the wedding of our dreams now. I be my parents would have preferred it too haha

But it's not what you did at the time?

Haha no...I loved the huge turn out we had in guests...but the whole thing was really expensive (in my opinion). I still love my dress...and don't neccessarily regret it...but it was $800, and that was the portion I had to pay for myself. I think, looking back, I could have gone without the photographer, or chosen a simpler reception area like someone's backyard. Then we would gave eaten pounds of spaghetti! Haha

@freedomtowrite Oh, yeah, and we have two photography majors in our close friend group, so they just took fabulous pictures ;)

I would enjoy attending that kind of a wedding!

@scribblingramma You would have been welcome!

You’d look pretty strange getting married in your vest where I live…..!

It’s your Wednesday prompt delivery technician here with today’s: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-216-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wire

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@deirdyweirdy Oh yeah? do people not wear vests where you live?

Yes, they do, but like knickers, vests are underwear, though I realise in the good old US of A vests are what we'd call waistcoats.
vest 2.jpeg

@deirdyweirdy Yes, a waistcoat is what it was. HA.

We had a fun wedding in our backyard too. with lots of friends and laughter yoga and hanging out :)

@mariannewest Fun, relaxed, casual is the best way to be in love. I didn't know laughter yoga was a thing! sounds like my kind of yoga

Yes!! I think you would love it!!! I know there are groups in LA :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89