Monkey -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-146-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-monkey

There's no business like monkey business, said the sign on Curious George's Talent Management Agency and Car Repair door. A true grease monkey, George wiped his hands on the nearest fabric, which in this case happened to be a table cloth belonging to the man in the yellow hat, who had just set it out for a picnic.

The bell kept ringing, as if someone were shaking the door to call attention to themselves. Damn those jingles, thought Curious George, the mischievous monkey.

He hopped/walked from the garage into his office, threw on his button down shirt and tie that was open on the back for ease of putting it on as a monkey, and went into the foyer of dark stained mahogany and threadbare rugs. A mirror hung above an umbrella stand that was taller than George. And there she stood, a dame, a broad, who looked like she belonged in some expensive pearls, but there were no pearls.

"Someone's stolen my pearls, Georgie, you just gotta find them. I bet it was that two-bit ex-husband of mine, who done gave e'm to me, and now that we're done, he wants 'em back to give to his next hussy."

"I'm not a dick, which is slang for private investigator" thought George. I'm a talent manager and a mechanic, but what the heck, I'll take the case. So he picked up a briefcase and took it.

George can't speak.

Also, this lady was his ex-wife and he had stolen the pearls? I dunno, that makes less than no sense. I'm okay with nonsense, but not with changing established, assumed truths.. This is why you're supposed to stop writing after the time runs out.

Sort:  

And how did I not immediately think of Curious George when I first saw the prompt lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84