House Coat -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-186-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-house-coat

"Try your best," remarked Mark's mom, "that's all that matters, in the end."

The END? What end? Mark's brain raced. Could it be that Mom knew something about the afterlife? Or did she mean at the end of school? Did she mean she and dad were getting divorced, and as long as he did his best they would both still love him, but if he didn't, they wouldn't...

Mark's mom was astute. So was his dad. All these thoughts flickered across his face. "Kiddo," they both said, then looked at each other and snickered... but a pleasant snicker? That word has cruel connotations, but none of them are meant. If anything , they were laughing at themselves for being so in sync, and the joy of that bubbled up at him. He worried about many things, but he definitely didn't worry that his parents were laughing at him.
"Kiddo," continued his dad, then paused for his mom to continue, "It was just a phrase that I guess has lost it's meaning a little to me, 'cause I didn't think when I said it."
"We both want you to know that we support you. That everything is going to be fine. We want to encourage you to do your best, because you'll feel good if you do, and you'll continue getting better if you do your best each time."
"Only positive things, nothing negative."
"We love you."

Mark turned to the door. "Ok, my family. I will do my best." Then he looked upwards and flew.

...

Oh jeez. I totally forgot about the prompt, didn't I? Oh well. Also, all the characters were wearing housecoats the whole time. And somewhere a housecoat factory is on fire, and also, they're in a house that's wearing a coat.

Sort:  

I totally forgot about the prompt, didn't I? Oh well. Also, all the characters were wearing housecoats the whole time. And somewhere a housecoat factory is on fire, and also, they're in a house that's wearing a coat.

your story was so good I didn't realize you forgot to use the prompt until you told me LOLLLLLLLL

I like houses which wear a coat - they are just so cozy

I'm with @snook on this one - I didn't even notice the prompt was missing from this. So good, but the kid definitely thought too much :P
Loved it.
but I must say, I think I did love the way you squeezed the house coats in most :D

Anyway, I'm in charge of delivering the next prompt (which I really hope you'll do), so there ya go:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-187-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-nail

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

I always do, you know. I've never missed a prompt, and I even get extra credit .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02