Herbs -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-242-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-herbs

Before I start the freewrite, look! A short film I had forgotten I had a copy of that I'm in:

Now here's the selfie:

herbs.jpg

And here's the freewrite:

So many Herbs! It was hard to find her husband amongst all of these Herbs, they were almost all middle aged men. None of them were particularly tall or short. None of them were particularly loud or quiet. Some wore beards, most didn't. One had a ponytail, but that wasn't her Herb. Why oh why had the aliens decided to group all the people by first name!? She'd been arguing with them for days about letting her leave the Linda compound so that she could reach her mate. She figured she was probably just more persistent than most. She'd started in on them after the first day. She thought they were probably better at saying no firmly on that first day, as they assumed people were just responding to what they THOUGHT they were expected to protest rather than really meaning it. But since she started bugging them on the second day, they maybe thought that she had actually considered all her options. Who knows? Whatever the reason, as far as she knew she was the only one allowed to go find her husband.

No, better than that. She'd changed her name to Herb as soon as she realized what had happened. Easy to game this system.

There, and now she was with all the other Herbs. Oh, hers was special to her alright. all right. He may not have seemed special...

I want to take a moment to talk about specialness. I think our kid is phenomenal. Like, really, the absolute best kid. But, like, statistically, that's improbable, right? But I can't convince myself, nor do I really want to, that it isn't true. He really is the best person that has ever been.

Sort:  

Of course, it is possible. It is how it is supposed to be. Our kids are supposed to be the very best!

Someone has to be the best!

Now, that's a name I haven't heard in a long time, Herb :)
Loved the video of you as the homeless man! Watched it with my youngest and we were both laughing :)

Who did you play? 😂

Came for the freewrite, stayed for the film! You're a man of many talents, and I think the last words of this freewrite, one day, will show to your son all the love of his dad!

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-243-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-phone
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

Haha I love the idea of this, @improv! I really think you could expand on it, on these loopy aliens of yours ;)

Thanks! If you wanted to do a we-write on this, I'd be happy for that to happen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85