Grandma -5minutefreewrite (x3)

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/weekendfreewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-2-3-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

My grandfather lied to my grandmother. I guess it runs in the family.
Many things run in the family, hair color, eye color, a propensity for scratching records, a love of cats.... lying.

My grandfather thought it would be "neat" if my grandma believed he was wealthy enough to support them after his passing. He hid their finances, and borrowed until his death. He died just at the right moment to not have to deal with the repercussions, and to saddle my grandma with impossibly knotted finances.

So she called me. I'm a tax preparer. Not really an accountant, but I know enough to get in trouble. I didn't have a real solution for her. He house was underwater, her bills were more than their social security. So, we ignored the bills, and she moved secretly into my place. We just let it all go. We had to. We pretended not to see the house mail stack up. I live just down the street, but the bill collectors didn't need to know that. Maybe they would think she had passed away, we whispered to each other. I'm not independently wealthy, but I was keeping my head above water.

Grandma didn't want to be the burden on me that grandpa was on her, though.

SO she got a part time job. I want to say "as a costco greeter" but we both know that isn't true.

Margaret had this habit of spitting. It began to get on my nerves.
Margaret is what I started calling my Grandma after she fell in with the wrong crowd. Truth be told, it was more affectation than habit. She knew what she was doing. She had started by just hanging around the minor league baseball games, being all the players' grandma, getting in good with the forgotten players that she thought, you know, in another world would have played in the majors. They started inviting her out with them, and she started to pick up their attitudes. They thought they were the kings of Toledo, and they could do anything, be anything. And she started dealing for them. First, just regular chocolate chip cookies...
No, there's a better angle. But something subtle. It's ... OH! her prescriptions. They were a curious lot, these baseball players they would try anything, even heart medicine. SO she started hustling. She started paying for my take out. It was a curious few weeks before I uncovered the truth... I wondered if there was something to what my grandpa had said, that he really had provided for her, and she was holding out, because she didn't want it seized by bill collectors, like, that he'd had a stockpile of silver coins or something, but no.

The day her mother slapped her face, was a story she got lots of attention for from the baseball buddies. There were a few women on the team, who just loved to hear her tak about how she stood up to them, in between bong hits, presumably, since she'd gotten a prescription for cannabis when she asked. "What's an 87 year old going to do that's naughty" asked none of her doctors. She was dealing. The doctors were cool. They didn't rat her out to bill collectors, and Medicare was taking care of THEIR fees. It was just a matter of distracting.

That this that this thathis that this .

There was someone ono oneone There's no train of thought left. What a silly Grandma she is. I guess I just have to live with a Grandma who is a drug dealer, who has a bad attitude, and who is unwilling to abide by my rules about my abhorence of spitting.

I hate spitting, I really do. But she's my grandma, and she still isn't making enough to pay the bill collectors. I know, you;d think running drugs to minor league baseball players would pay really really well, but it doesn't. Plus, she uses her own stash... which is good, of course, because they're her medicines.

Sort:  

Seriously not cool on grandpa's part. I wonder if maybe grandma would have made more if she had stuck to dealing cookies? The markup on food at a ballgame is pretty hefty.

While snacking on a tasty piece of Snook Fruit, I came across a delicious little platter of prompts left by the Goddess Marianne. As tempted as I was to keep them to myself, they looked too scrumptious not to share.

Freewrite Prompt - Day 108

Ain't you neat! I think I need to add you to my Steemdunk. Since I still haven't figured out how much I "owe" you, I figure that'll pay you back in the long run somehow.

Thanks for the compliment! Also I appreciate being told about Steemdunk (there are so many programs to keep track of)! Like you, I'm not concerned with being paid back but the fact that you thought of it is sweet, thank you so much. I always find it's best when people do things because they want to and not because they have to, don't you? I'm still a bit out of it so hopefully that makes sense haha.

Yes indeed, be forewarned, the "free" option on Steemdunk isn't exactly free, as it uses your account to vote for itself. But that's not the end of the world.

hahaha this is quality.. kept me smiling the whole way... very imaginative and it was fun to read the unfolding of your story... really great work!

look forward to reading more from you and thanks for your support thus far... it's hugely appreciated by me being as I am a complete newbie here :)

Thanks again for this!

With love
Hart Floe
<3

We're glad to have you!

I love your grandma!! I want to meet her - as soon as she stops spitting lol

My real grandmas are all dead.

Your created grandma is very cool :)

Fiction is always best.

Great funny read :D Thank You!

This is way more focused than most of your freer freewrites. Nice, nonetheless. What's the deal with the x3? Third time entitle grandma? 15 minutes to write? Underlying sexual references?

Weekendfreewrites involve three connected prompts and 3 5-minute increments!

I discovered that after I commented. Forgot to edit my comment here.

That's ok. Seeing your possible interpretations was also fun!

Love for this poat

You have a great writting skills Keep it up Thanks for sharing I wish you all the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78