Garlic Breath -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-720-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-garlic-breath

Have I mentioned that my dad had no sense of smell? But even if he did, I’m sure garlic breath would have smelled fine to him, as it does to me. Today is my anniversary and Stina and I were maybe going to an Italian restaurant in Port Washington. My mom warned me that their garlic bread will give us garlic breath. But isn’t the other thing about garlic breath that if you both have it, it doesn’t matter?

There’s so much silly “conventional wisdom” that has been repeated so often, and yet I wonder how many real people who repeat it have actually observed that. As I said, garlic breath has never bothered me, so I’m out right there. Of those who are bothered by garlic bread, have any of you noticed that kissing your partner with garlic breath is more okay with you if you have also eaten garlic recently?

Answer in the comments.

Dracula. Garlic breath. My dad did not like horror movies. At all. He liked romantic comedies. He liked movies based on Jane Austen novels. He liked, well, genre-wise, that was the emphasis. I’m sure there were other individual movies he liked. I suppose, genre-wise, he also liked revolutionary movies. I assume he liked cradle will rock and newsies. I sure did. My mom likes very depressing movies. Movies that indicate the end is nigh and there’s really no hope, or that this atrocity happened. They reinforce her worldview. Dad didn’t especially need more of sadness in his movies. There’s plenty in the world.

Speaking of revolutionaries, my dad was an ardent revolutionary. I’ve always been frustrated with my mother. I feel like, for all her cynicism, she thinks she can rely on party-left democrats to move the needle. I guess my father lived with that, so I can, too. It’s just hard, as we’re worrying about how money is going to work in the new living situation, to see her giving to a capitalist candidate.

Le sigh.

Sort:  

Le sigh. Your dad sounds awesome, too.

Posted using Partiko Android

He was.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44