Fir Tree -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

My wife gave me the prompt today!

Fir tree. Bur tree. Eat some whey and curds tree. Sir tree. Nerd tree. Kitty belly purr tree.

The mountain air, cool and crisp, swept down into the campground. Kelly shivered.

"Justin, you're doing it wrong. Here, let me. I was a 4-Her." She took the flint and steel from him.

"I dunno why that makes you boss." Justin mumbled. "I was a boy scout."

The spark caught, and the flames ate the dried pine needles and twigs. Kelly protected the flames while she smiled. "It doesn't make me boss, Justin. My mastery of FIRE makes me boss."

Justin and Kelly had spent the morning hiking on an empty stomach, and Justin was trying to hold back his crankiness. He lifted the edge of their worm buck lid and peered in. "I feel like I'd rather eat a worm now than a fish later, I'm so hungry."

"Drink some water, chew a towel, Justin. We're fishing. We don't need to be ridiculous just because civilization has collapsed." Kelly's smile didn't move, but the crinkles beside her eyes faded. "You won't starve today. Worst comes to worst, we can chew fir needles."

Sort:  

Wow, deep stuff. Random word generator, drugs or just a really free mind?

This is all brain juice, man. Like, groove on life, you know?

hi regarding the whale power, it will be curated by paul-gullbanks, and he will upvote also, but in smaller voting power. the idea is to help each other those who use the whale power tag. that is as far as i know

Thanks. I hope you enjoyed the story, too!

Congratulations @improv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your wife knows what she's talking about with those fir trees, lol. @seedvault had a nice post about White Fir trees that mentioned how they have a nice citrus scent. And I put needles from my Nobel fir into a great salad recently - Wild, Wild Salad. So I hope you do get a chance to chew on those fir needles, even if you aren't starving! ; )

Tagged as #foraging, because there's not enough foraging humor! Here's to everyone enjoying fir needles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40