Cocktail -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-532-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-cocktail

Cocktail, Mocktail.

I thought, if I had just come back from exercising, I'd feel ready to write. Isn't that a thing that is supposed to be. That getting your body moving gets your brain juicing? Maybe it does. Maybe I just have to shake off the cobwebs. I had the goal of writing just a little for my story every day. And I did the first day. But it feels less like I can demand computer time...

And also, also also. I'm just tired.

GOD I'm done complaining, k?

Cocktail. I used to LOVE cocktail shrimp. I really did. We would only have them at my Aunt Kathy's house, and the sauce was just to die for, and I could never get as many as I wanted so they remained a very special treat. But now that I've been able to indulge more than once in things that I found an out-of-reach special treat, I'm losing my utter enjoyment of them. I still like them ok, but I find myself eating more than I want, trying to chase that high.

I wonder if, as a kid... Here's what I'm wondering. Can we teach our kid good eating habits by not restricting any foods, but offering him lots of healthy choices? I think I do pretty well, but I definitely notice that things I think of as treats are harder for me to stop eating when I am no longer enjoying them. If I could just eat what I was enjoying eating, I'd probably eat less.

Hmmm. On the other hand, there are adults out there who have always had as much access to junk food as they want who have the same thing, I think. Or is that true? I always imagined as a kid that I was the only one who didn't get to eat cookies and chips at lunch time. But I probably wasn't. I dunno. It's on me.

Just offer healthy options, but don't forbid foods or treat some foods as special. That's what we're doing so far, and I'm okay with it. He chooses cheerios more than we'd prefer maybe, but he's healthy, and he tries new foods pretty easily. He'll usually eat whatever he's offered. And more so if he's especially hungry. I'm not going to worry.

Sort:  

We never got chips or cookies in our lunches either! My mom made strange things like cream cheese and green olive sandwiches, or miracle whip and canned pork and beans with these spilling all over your lap while the other kids laughed their heads off.
Maybe, let him bring chips or cookies once in awhile just to fit in?

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33