Why can't I ditch you? (Freewrite: Coffee)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I have told lies because of coffee. Can you believe it? When my eldest son was young, he asked me countless times, out of curiosity, what was the brown or black drink that I had every morning.

image

Son: What are you drinking?
Mummy: Brown water.
Son: What is that?
Mummy: Some drink..
Son: Is it nice?
Mummy: Not nice at all.. (guilty!)

You see, I am trying my best to not expose him to coffee because of its err...caffeine... Supposedly its bad effect too if the body gets addicted. But I drink coffee every morning, it is impossible for him not to know or to be curious about this brown water. And then he grew up, smarter and wiser.

Son: What are you drinking?
Mummy: Same. Brown water.
Son: What is that actually.
Mummy: Just some drink, son darlingi..
Son: Is it nice?
Mummy: Not nice at all.. (very guilty!)
Son: Is it good for health?
Mummy: Not really.. (palmed face)
Son: Adults are weird. Not good for health but still drink everyday.

And I got head shot.

Now he is 7 years old and is very smart at his age. One day, I was washing stuff at kitchen and my half cup of coffee was displaying itself beautifully on the coffee table. Then my son ran to the kitchen with a cheeky face and smiled... "Now I know why you drink coffee every day. It is so nice. I LOVE IT! At what age am I allowed to drink again?"

Oh dear me.. He had a sip and got the taste of it!!!

How would I expect my son not to find out about coffee if mummy and daddy drink everyday? AND is absolutely absurd to assume that he will dislike the taste.

Anyway, I have been trying my very best to cut down coffee but to no avail. Looking at my lifestyle which still requires me to wake up in the middle of the night 2 times to tube-feed my son, it is difficult unless I drink coffee.

It causes me to have minor heaviness in the head, because your body needs the sleep and you are forcing it to stay awake. But for the sake of my 2nd son who needs that extra calorie input now, I think it is worthwhile.

But I still plan to ditch coffee one day.

Well. One fine day....

image
Two to three cups per day, oh dear me


image

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret it!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

Sort:  

Definitely CAN'T LIVE without coffee!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Wow I would have thought he would be like ew it’s bitter haha but maybe you have sugar in it haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahaha!! since young he was already curious and the curiosity only went UP UP UP..then one fine day with the "brown water" left on the table with no one around, he sneaks up and drinks it. SO FUNNY! Sounds like me when I was younger! I did that too! LOL! but for SHANDY not Coffee.....

Hahaha so funny. Cos I heard him asking you before. I also won't know what to say if I were you honestly. I know you have to depend on it to go through ur super packed day.

Lol I feel you @iamjadeline!! My big girl also asked me once what that is and she asked sooooo many times if she could try and have a sip. I thought she'd hate the bitter taste since it's 2 in 1, but she tried it and smiled. 😂 I asked her is it bitter and she said yes. But she comes to me almost.every.other.day.to.ask.for.a.sip when she sees my cup. Lol oh welp. 😅

Hope your son doesn't get addicted to coffee after he had a taste of it.

I hope so. Although now everytime I drink he will want to have a sip.

I think they want to be like Mom maybe. On the other hand I don't remember having that problem when raising my girl. The trouble was when she was old enough to go places. Pre school, birthday parties ect. Seems like everyone wants to give the children soda. That stuff is probably worse than coffee.
Somehow she survived and grew up ok. Just another one of those Mom things we deal with I suppose.

Nice article . I see a very different way to describe about this prompt and your story about coffee with your son
Cheers

Lol! I understand your son. It reminds me of my first sip of coffee when I was young. I got it from my dad's leftover cup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24