Iris (5-minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

The world is such a beautiful place. Every single morning, I am greeted by sceneric sun rays. This is the moment I absorb in as much as light as I can, and it always feels so good. If too much light, I will close up a little.

Despite the fact that my surrounding is usually picturesque, once a week I will be greeted by people who are drunk. Often, they look into me and say something disrespectful, due to high with drugs. As much as I don't want, I will witness people fighting, or someone died of drugs' overdose, someone being dragged out into the street and being beaten up. The time when I will shrink most is when I see death in front of me.

I will yearn for the next day. When the grief and mourning at night had gone, and new day has come, to be greeted by that sun ray again.

image
Image by Carol Oliver from unsplash.com

What I love the most is gazing into the green eyes of Carol. It mesmerises always, without fail. I will open up as wide as I can so that I get every detail of her eyes and features. So captivating. She is my dear daughter. Beautiful, isn't she? She resembles her mother whom I miss dearly. Especially those green pair of eyes. She says I look the same as hers. Oh well...

The world becomes blurry one day. Months pass by and the world is blur now. Carol brings me to the doctor for a check up. And I receive bad news of having glaucoma and it is so bad beyond any intervention can help.

Eventually, I lose the light. Now everyday I wake up to darkness. Just voices and sound. I try to move around to see whether will there still be slightest light that can seep into me. No. I try with all my might in vain.

I am iris. The iris of Carol's father.

image

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret it!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

May I ask how to be as one?

Do you mean be as one in Team Malaysia? You need to be a Malaysian or someone who works in Malaysia for a long period of time.

Or do you meant to ask another question?

Yes, to be one in Team Malaysia. I am a Malaysian, and only been to NZ for five years and is now back.
https://steemit.com/malaysia/@lordkipas/whoami-enyt99izaj

Do you have discord app in your mobile? First download the app as many Steemit communities are found there.

Next please go to Facebook Steem Malaysia - teammalaysia steem blockchain. Post your intro link there and type abit about yourself that you wish to join teammalaysia Steemit community. and ask any moderator to join teammalaysia discord.

I assume you have Facebook.

:)

Thanks, I do. Thanks a lot for your help.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to iamjadeline💕! This bot is managed by @KiwiBot and run by @rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of @KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to iamjadeline💕. To support development, check out @rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

You're lucky

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemitmamas community account. We are a community of mamas, connected via Steemit and Discord, supporting one another from across the globe.

very beautifully written. I was about to tear when I read till the last part about his daughter becoming his iris. The males in my mom's family have a history with glaucoma. My grandpa really did lose his sight due to it and now he lives a difficult life. My uncles really became his iris but they too work and haven't been able to be with him all the time.

My mother had too at early stage. Went for surgery and it helped till today. We hope there is no reoccurrence :)

It is really not fun at all to have glaucoma.

Thank you Connie for visiting.

This was an intriguing short story. I thought at first that it was written from the perspective of the floweriris so it was a neat surprise in the end to see that it was from the human iris.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87