CURRY (5-minute Weekend Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

20180511_130030.jpg

Nothing beats a bowl of yummylicious Sarawak Kuching Curry Laksa. I grew up at Sarawak so this is my comfort food for sure whenever I need comfort or something to spice up my tastebuds or mood.

There is something about curry - it will boost you up. It must be the combinations of spices or herbs, usually including turmeric, cumin, ginger, and fresh or dried hot chillies - that make it a perfect dish, that in my opinion, if you don't have much appetite that day, a bowl of dish cooked with curry will cure you. 😜

We have all sorts of curry here in our country. Vegetables curry, fish curry, chicken curry, mutton curry, crab curry, prawn curry, squid curry, lentil curry (dhal), you name it, we have it.

In our Malay language, we called it kari.

It cooked in various ways too, be it the sour type or sweet type or salty type. We can either cook it dry or wet. Dry because we let it evaporate abit leaving it denser in taste. Wet one usually has gravy based on yogurt, milk, coconut milk, tomatoes or some lentils with sauteed crushed onion. However it is cooked, it sure will get your appetite going.

What type of curry do you like?

Selfie Contest for @freewritehouse

img1527945449860.jpg

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers

20180516_002249_0001.png


Asapers.gif

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-03T02:42:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 926.58/1600.00
Total Photos: 116
Total comments: 74
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Sarawak Kuching Curry Laksa - gosh, this is one of my favorite's Sarawak foods :D

We same same here ;) your number 81 does that means you are born in the year 1981?

Bingo, your intuition was so right lol

So looks like we are the same gang. 1981 breed!

Oh, glad to hear it, high 5 sis lol

I feel like I have completely misunderstood what curry is. I've tried a couple of curry dishes, and didn't care for them at all. I didn't realize that there were different types and flavors of curry. I'm sure getting the dishes from the US and non-authentic didn't help either. Maybe I should give it a try again.

Try curry at authentic shop like Indian shop, do you Indian restaurants there?

I am gong to have to find one! Or maybe an authentic Indian grocery store. I will definitely give it another try.

Now craving for ramen! :-) Yum!!!!

Ramen. One of my favourites too. ;)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

You made me so hungry for curry!!! I like them all! Here, we have a lot of Thai restaurants and Indian restaurants. Both serve curry but the taste is very different.
Now, I want to try Kari!!!

Today's prompt for you. Wonder what it will bring to your mind :)

https://steemit.com/frewrite/@mariannewest/day-227-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-bones

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you @mariannewest for delivering prompt right at the doorstep. Let's kari!;)

Ahh so this is the Sarawak place you been to lately? Is this good? If yes I'm gonna drop by one of these days. Sarawak Kuching Curry Laksa is one of my favourite food too! :D

It is good, to me. Yet again I may be bias as I am craving for all these hometown food. I can go daily you know? lol

It looks very appetizing and tasty!

Looks yummy, I don't even know what type I like 🤔 I like all I guess hahah

I like all too. haha.

yuum that looks good and spicy :D! also remind me of the mexican tomato soup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41