The Fragility of Our Minds | 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: disoriented

in #freewrite5 years ago

IMG_20191125_111257.jpg
Greetings, everyone

This is my entry to the #freewrite 5-minute exercise hosted by @mariannewest. See details here.
Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

The Fragility of Our Minds

Today I woke up as usual. My wife’s alarm had been sounding for some minutes and I had to get up and turn it off. She has not been sleeping for the last 3 days due to an annoying cough. We do not have cough medicine or antihistaminic, so we’ve had to manage with some home-made remedies (visiting a doctor is not an option for us now). I honestly thought she’d stay in bed today, but as soon as I got up to shut the alarm she was getting ready to go to work.

Everything seemed ok until I checked my phone. It was on. I usually turn it off when I go to bed. I checked the most recent conversations. Two with my daughters, one with a colleague who had asked me a favor that kept me busy all weekend. I did not recognize the last things I had written. Then, I checked some of the audio messages I had sent and received. It was my voice, but I did not remember having said what the phone was playing. It wasn’t anything outrageous or out of place, it was just new to me.
[end of 5 mins]

I felt really disturbed, disoriented. This had never happened to me. Things got really weird when I checked my most recent Steemit post. It was a freewrite. I did not remember that “futility” was the prompt for that day. I started reading the post and it was as if I was reading someone else’s blog. “I did not write this,” I said out loud. My wife heard me and approached me. I must have looked really upset. She started to talk to me as if I was holding a gun and threatening to kill some innocent hostages.

I went over the phone conversations again. The more I read, the more bizarre it got. I felt I remembered everything I had done the day before but some things just did not fit. My wife asked me to please calm down and stay in bed. I could not. I went over the post and the conversations once more and every time I had the impression I was reading or listening to (in the case of the audio messages) something utterly new.

I could not be still. One hour after my wife left, I was getting ready to go out too. I had agreed to meet a colleague who would hand me a pendrive with some movies he had downloaded for me. We have been exchanging movies lately. I went out, got to the High School where my friend works and while I waited for him I went over the phone records again. some things started to sound familiar, but then I wondered if it was not because I had already gone over those many times already.

I’m back home writing on today’s prompt, which conveniently describes how I feel. If this is a beginning of some serious problem, I just want to leave a record of when and how it started. I had never felt like this and going to a doctor is not an option at the moment. Hopefully it is just the result of a very stressful weekend and the accumulated anguish of a very difficult year.
Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Thanks for your visit


Logo Equipo Cardumen-reducido.png

Visítanos en: www.equipocardumen.com.ve

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I hope this lack of memory passes for you. With my migraines it's unfortunately very familiar and I, too, read what I write and fail to remember it. I hope it is just stress and lack of good sleep and things will improve. Take care.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I used to suffer from migraines too (in runs in the family). I guess they never were as bad as I thought.
Thanks for stopping by.
You too take care

Stress can do weird things! And you have more than enough of that!

Thanks for stopping by. That must be it

I'm glad you didn't stop after the five minutes. That's a good idea, keep writing but let people know when the time was "up"
If this is a true story (hope it's something you imagined), the doctor probably wouldn't be able to tell you what happened. Besides the obvious explanation of stress, there can be transient events that affect memory and perception, but once these pass it's hard to tell what has happened.
Best thing is, try not to worry (I know that's ridiculous to say). But worry makes things worse. As long as the people around you think you are behaving rationally, then this is probably just an episode and it will pass.
If this isn't a true story, wow... you really write persuasively.
Hope that is the case.
Very good luck to you.

Thanks for the kind comment. I wish it were a made up story. It was like living one of my recurrent nightmares. I feel ok today, though. No lapses so far.

Congratulations @hlezama! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 3000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @hlezama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.211 which ranks you at #9187 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59