5 Minute Freewrite: witches

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


source

I always knew that witches existed. I just denied it. All I heard about them was what their ancestors did to humans and what their actual leaders are trying to do again. I never actually had a conversation with a witch. At least a witch that admits she is one.

Yesterday I found out that one of the the people I interact daily with, one that I respected a lot, was a witch. When She said what she was, I got shocked! My hands started to shake. All the respect I had for her suddenly became hatred, maybe fear maybe even pitty, I dont know.

I never thought about how a witch feels about being one. I never tried to relate. I thought they are all the same.. monsters. Now I have to try harder to understand them. Now I can ask myself, what if I was born a witch? would I be proud or ashamed? Would I belong to the witches community or push myself apart and blend with humans?

I didn't want to start that conversation with my witch friend yesterday, in public, because I was afraid I would offend her, I was very emotional back then, but I'm surely going to have my first decent conversation with a witch today.

separation.png

I know this sounds like a fantasy but it's a true story once you replace the word "witch" with another word!

This was my participation to Monday's freewrite about witches. check @mariannewest 's prompt post if you want to join.

separation.png

Proud Member Of:


GratefulVibesIOW COLOR LOGO.png

Sort:  

I like the way this one builds tension by describing the shock and the inner dialogue it precipitates, the questions and the self-questioning, and the holding back in order to avoid offending, but then offers the idea that the protagonist will be coming back to this difficult issue with his friend.

"I never tried to relate. I thought they are all the same.. monsters. Now I have to try harder to understand them."

It describes this crisis so well. Wonderful writing :)


هههههه جميلة و مضحكة جدا !
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)
** يسرنا اعلامك انه يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ ضمن
0.05 - 0.15
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي الجديد
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت من 0.10 الى 0.40 :)**

Mwahahaha that was such fun, loved this story. Especially the ending. I didn't think for a second that we were talking about something else, but you drove a really nice point.
i loved the part about how a witch feels about being a witch.

Really good work, I do hope you keep writing ;)
Here's the latest prompt, by the waY: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-138-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-syrup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67140.72
ETH 2488.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59