You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 109: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: yard sale

in #freewrite6 years ago

Here's mine - love you @mariannewest and @improv for bringing this to Steemit and connecting us all <3

===

Yard sales.. Sometimes that can lead to a hard sale. Like... somebody bartering for 20 minutes trying to get you down from 50p to 30p.... seems pretty pathetic really... I mean whats 20p really mean in the long run? I think more often than not it is the feeling of 'yes... I won that negotiation' that the buyer is going for over the literal physical victory of saving 20 pence.

Yard sales are called 'Car boot sales' in England. We don't have yards. But we do have car boots. In America they call them trunks - this caused confusion with one of my American friends once... and of course some laughter too.

It's great for sustainability. To go to a yard sale and buy things from other people. It means less packaging is produced. It means that less ends up in a landfill on the other side of the world somewhere. It also leads to other unexpected human interactions and sychronicities. It may also inspire you to buy something you'd never thought of buying before as you browse from one vendor to the next - you never know what you're gonna see next! It's kinda like a roullette - a gamble. Except.. luckily the stakes are pretty low at a yard sale.

Yard sales. It makes me think of chitter chatter and hustle bustle as the crowd compete to hunt for the best bargains. Cheap as chips. That's the general vibe of a yard sale. I'm really just writing rubbish now but I guess sometimes freewrites produce random ramblings often without true relevance.

If I was going to host a yard sale I would sell EVERYTHING I don't need or want in my life in the hope that it might actually go to a home that will appreciate and use the items I have neglected over the years.

This has been a boring write hasn't it? Not much of interest to say on yard sales after all.

Sort:  

Yard sales can be a great tool for sustainability - or for inviting hoarders to get even more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66