Freewrite Prompt: Helicopter

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The first thing that came to my mind when I saw this prompt was some childhood memories of visiting my dad's workplace. My dad works in the blood bank for the local government hospital and his laboratory is situated right in front of the hospital 's helipad.

Back then, I actually visited his workplace quite often after school or while waiting for him to finish up some extra lab work. I admired what he worked as a lot, though we were always reminded not to touch anything in the lab. I even loved the smell of the lab.

Okay back to the helipad. I always anticipated to see the helicopter landing on the helipad but out of the many many times of my visits for years, I saw only once. Then, I realized it was perhaps a good thing because if I kept seeing the helicopters, it only meant lives were in danger and rescue work was on the go. I saw it once before my eyes how urgent that was, and remembered it.

The sound of the helicopter was tremendously loud. We could all hear it from the other end of the building. So, my dad took my sister and I to have a look, after having his colleague to standby for him.

The paramedics were trained to follow procedures as soon the injured came out on the stretchers, transferred onto a hospital bed and wheeler right into the emergency ward.

I remember asking my dad, "What happened daddy?" He said he wasn't sure too but soon after he asked us to run back to the lab, to blood bank as his instincts kicked in. We didn't know what happened but we followed after him.

He knew it almost there and then blood would be needed so his colleague and him were on standby. True enough, the phone call came and they started looking through their incubators, taking out packs of blood according to the blood type requested.

I was thinking how cool helicopters were but then I realized how important they are to access to rural areas where we could never reach by other vehicles.

image
Image Source

Okay, the freewrite ended as of the above but I would like to add a random cold joke that I have heard about the helicopter:

A asked B a riddle that went, "Do you know why the helicopter was going higher and higher when it suddenly went all the way down?"

"Er... Because it hit a certain altitude and it ran out of fuel? " B answered.

"Nope, because the pilot felt cold, and he turned off the 'fan' on top!" A replied.

Can you get the joke? Sorry if it sounded too lame.


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.


RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png


Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png


Sort:  

@happycrazycon,

Good write.

For some reason this made me think of a vast machine (society) with thousands of cogs (unrecognized and unnamed people).

"The world works because everyone does their job."

Quill

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Got the joke :) And just wanted to say Thank YOU!!!!

Hehe glad you got the joke. Don't mention for that. Am glad to meet Sharon too. We learnt a lot from her in person too :) and we also learnt about how helpful and kind you are @mariannewest.

Oh, thank you :)

Congratulations @happycrazycon! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

hahahaha... That's a mighty big and loud fan....

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Here's your next prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-291-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-helpless

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38