Freewrite prompt: As Helpless As a Baby

in #freewrite6 years ago

Sometimes in life, I guess we will encounter moments when we feel helpless and set back. It is easy to really sink in those moments feeling that we are mistreated or even unacknowledged.

I remember hearing a preaching that only humans are born as helpless babies who need care for the longest of time among all mammals. Most mammals could survive without the mother's care but not humans because we take time to learn crawling, standing and walking. But often, even when we are all grown to maturity, we may still feel helpless.

"I can't do anything about it." sounds like the most helpless statement I have heard my whole life. I am sure the emotions are real and the inability can be real too. We can and should process this emotions by crying out or screaming them out, not suppressing them because if we can do that, we actually pull ourselves out of our victim mentality. After the process of mourning, grieving and crying, we somehow obtain strength out of nowhere, do you feel that?

Feeling helpless and being a victim are two different mentality. Feeling helpless is a temporary state when we feel we are out of control of circumstance in life (which we are anyway) while being a victim can be destroying our lives forever if we were to be drowned in it, thinking that everyone else owe us something. A victim surrenders his or her power over his or her life and circumstances while a helpless person may still be able to step out to seek for help after realizing the limitation he or she has.

My own conclusion is it is okay to be helpless, it is okay to cry for help especially with God, but being a victim will hinder myself from reaching my potentials and discovering the many possibilities in life. No one can force me to surrender my power, only I can. You and I are that powerful. Even a newborn baby can decide to drink milk or not, to be happy or not.

image
Image Source


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.


RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png


Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png


Sort:  

Great points to ponder on @happycrazycon!

Thank you for coming by to read @joelai :)

You are most welcome!

Well said @happycrazycon You make some great points. I think some people like to play the victim. Maybe it's not they like it, but they get some comfort from that role and the sympathy etc which may come their way. I agree with you that I would prefer to be helpless, than a victim.

Yeah it sounds like the Stockholm syndrome you know. This name derived from a bank robbery in Stockholm where the victims started to sympathize with the robbers and they want to remain as victims. You are right about being too comfortable in it that they can't get themselves out.

Yeah when people "fish" sympathy too much, I could feel and tend to not want to give in to them too.

congratulation for been included in the Freewrite 20 Club. I don't really know what it mant but I believe it is something to be proud of
Cheers

Yes it is something to be proud of being part of the Over 20 Club! And you got nominated @digitalmind!!! It means you have done more than 20 freewrites and you are active in the community.

Here's what you do after being nominated:

  1. Write a post on how you started freewriting and your journey in it.

  2. Recommend 3 (or more) freewrites you have done!

  3. Use the Over 20 club badge. You can find it in this post by me. Tag over20club when you are submitting the post. Submit before this Thursday!

All the best @digitalmind. Hope to read about yours soon!

I felt helpless the most after I have Jansen. But will never share it to him of course. But also I felt God the most too in these period of my life.

Thank you for sharing this in-depths thoughts for us. :)

You are right, in times of feeling helpless we still have a choice; whether to cry it out and strengthen ourselves or to fall into the victim mentality. Good one!

You have such a wonderful attitude in this post and always, @happycrazycon. Lucky me to run into you - or you to find me, really. Tweeted this post :)

I agree that it's important to be vulnerable now and then.

Perhaps today's prompt will inspire something dreamy.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-292-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-overslept

there's always a difference between helpless and victim. Interesting train of thought! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54