5-Minute Freewrite: Herbs

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

I have never really get acquainted with herbs before I got to know my husband who loves to cook, as his hobby, self-learnt mostly from Food Network. My mum does cook some Chinese herbs which can be totally different from the Western herbs.

Some herbs I can remember off hand are like parsley, thyme, mint, rosemary, sage, saffron and basil. I once bought a pot of basil for my husband as a present because I know he could use them for cooking. We plant our own mint at home.

Herbs are known for their aroma for cooking to enhance the taste of food besides being a great garnish for the final touch as well as their medicinal properties. They have a wide range of functions which are quite impressive.

Chinese herbs were used since the ancient dynasties to treat diseases, build immune system as well as alleviate pain. They function as toxic poisons as well as medicine. I personally have some of the Chinese herbs (not the poisonous ones) ready at home, especially the cordyceps flowers which I usually add when I boil soup to nourish the body to strengthen the respiratory system. I know lesser about Chinese herbs like cinnamon, ginger, dang gui, cordyceps, wolfberries and ginseng but I know they have their place in the medicine field too. I used to work for a Chinese company who encapsulates the benefits of these traditional herbs as supplements, which was where I learnt more about them.

Significantly for me, there was a prophecy long time ago released to me that I am a rare herb. I have been trying to ponder on this word from God since then, so that was when I started to learn about the usages and functions of herb. May the word come to pass, in God's timing and also with His grace.

I personally super love sage because its leaves feels like velvet to me, hahaha!

photo-1502741384106-56538427cde9.jpg'
Image Source


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

We plant herb as well at home, Chinese spring onion, ginger... Western basil, mint, oregon... Feel like Jamie Oliver sometimes when cooking, just pick fresh from garden... lol

Ah, I have always enjoyed reading your freewrite posts. This post about herbs is another good read! (say no to basil!!!) hehee

Herbs are nicest fresh, enjoyed your freewrite on the topic @happycrazycon

Since you like sage, have you ever tried fried sage leaves? they taste delicious!

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-243-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-phone
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

I also love various herbs and use them in my recipes :-)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81