Wildfires - FreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Wildfires; humans with pyrokinetic powers that weren't grown in the labs. There was a small percentage of them born with each generation, like the species manifested them for a purpose. It was my job to interfere with that purpose.

Most often, they little burners would roast themselves. Wild powers and infant control mechanisms didn't go together in our flammable but usually safe world. I spent most of my time investigating fires where children had been killed. I'd say about 3 out of a hundred of them were started by a wildfire.

There were avenues for promotion. Most of that work was overseas though. Tiny villages where people didn't live wrapped in combustibles, where meditation was a family affair not a stress relief for overworked cogs in corporate machines. That was actual hunting, and while the pay would have been worthwhile I liked having a good paying job in a place with running water and electricity.

When I found one that hadn't burned themselves out early, I had to do what I had to do. Accidents happen, and when they don't, it's not that hard to make it like like they did.

The oldest wildfire I ever came across was 12. Scarlet, she was called.

img src

freewrite 678

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67