You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hungry as a !

in #freewrite5 years ago

I am sorry you lost a bird to the fox. The fox are so smart.

I am only raising my own food, so not big time, but I guess bigger than a 6 chicken flock which is the most urban people are usually allowed.

I haven't figured out the fox yet. They can climb, so we electrified the layer pen. Actually it was already electrified, because raccoons can climb too. But now it is HOT: 7000 volts I think it is. So hot we put the wire on extension holders so the chickens don't hit it. And it's a dedicated charger.

The fox figured that out: if she couldn't get in, get the chickens out. She she'd charge the fence, the birds would freak, and 1 would eventually fly out.

So we put up a fox guard fence about 6' away from the pen's fence and that stopped the charging by the fox. We'd lost 3 by the time we figured this out.

Then we stopped seeing the foxes. Haven't for a couple weeks. But we are still on guard....There's more where those came from.

We liked watching the fox, but truth be told, I prefer having the coyotes. They aren't as smart and we've never had a problem with them and the birds. But they've been nearly wiped out around here in the last 10 years, so now we have fox to deal with.

We don't kill the predators. The rodent population is unbelievable around where without the coyotes. As much as the foxes are a problem, we won't kill them. They do eat the rodents too. I just wish people would not hunt the coyotes.

Sort:  

Thank you for all that information! So if I understand correctly, the fox guard is electrified? I'm going to have to do something. I can't stand not letting them out of their run, even if it is huge. They've had it so much better!

The electric netting inside the fox guard is NOT electrified because we only have heavy duty chargers. The 3 electric strands, at 8" 16" and 30", are set about 6' from the netting and are VERY hot! We also have the hot wires at the same height on extension holders around the stationary pen. Fence is checked daily.

Oh my. This might be too much for little ole me. And I mean ole. It might be time to find a new home for my chickens. I haven't seen any sign of the fox for two days though. It's likely animal control has been called on the fellow.

We've not seen ours in a couple weeks, but we are still vigilant...

And the addition we are building is because we are elderly and don't want to do stairs any more... :))

We've not seen ours
In a couple weeks, but we
Are still vigilant...

                 - goldenoakfarm


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I love haikubot
we met just today in fact
this very minute

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64