5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: token

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)


She twiddled the token around her fingers, running her thumb across the surface. Glancing back down into the wooden box, she found what she had been looking for, the necklace her brother had given her on her eighth birthday. It was tucked behind a small plastic horse and a ticket stub to the movie theater.

She pulled it out gently, making sure the delicate bead work stayed in one place, and placed it in her palm. A small tear escaped.

"Mama! Mama!" a small voice cried running into the room. Daisy's voice hushed to a whisper as her chubby little finger pointed to the colorful jewelry. "Mama, what's that?" she asked.

"This, my sweet girl, is a necklace your Uncle made for me when I was small."

"Ohhhhh," her mouth circled perfectly. "It's special, isn't it?"

"Hmmmhmmm."

"Is that why you keep it in your special box I'm not allowed to touch?" Daisy asked.

"Yes, my love."

"But Mama, are you crying?" Daisy wiped the small tear away from her face.

"Maybe just a little."

"Do you miss him? I know I miss him."

"I miss him bunches," she said then scooped her up in to a firm hug. "But he said he would visit soon."

"Yes! Once he climbs the Rockies, and once he rides the donkey's, and after his toes touch the ocean!"

"That's right! That's just what he told us he would do."

"Mama?"

"Yes, love."

"Do you think he'll ever take me to touch my toes in the ocean?"

"Will you grow up to be just as brave as him?"

"Yes!" Daisy said giggling.

"Then I wouldn't doubt it for a single second!"


Thank you for reading!! This made me a little teary. All of the sudden the main character turned into my daughter, and then popped in her "future" daughter. Next thing I know, my son is on an adventure! Ahhhh...how I love a freewrite!

If you are interested in trying one, please check out @mariannewest. She posts a new prompt everyday along with additional tools to help. She is also a great community supporter!


Image

Sort:  

So great to see you back among the freewriters. We missed you!!! Hope it is not too cold where you are. We are freezing here and I can't even imagine what it is like where you are!
big hug to you!

I missed you guys too!! I was wondering how cold it was yesterday for you! We are staying around 20° or so. Not bad compared to the negatives two weeks ago!
A big hug right back to you! 🤗

hahaha - if we get to 20 we all would freak out. Getting in the 30s is already making us scream LOL. But nothing here is built with good insulation (at least not the older houses) and it is a damp cold... But all good. Glad that you are thinking 20 is warm LOL

This got emotionally quickly.

Will you grow up to be just as brave as him?"

"Yes!" Daisy said giggling.

"Then I wouldn't doubt it for a single second!"

Right there, I could feel my skin.
Great freewrite😊

Ahhh! I'm so glad you could feel it! Thank you for your lovely comment!

Congratulations @freedomtowrite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I've missed you! 💕

🐓🐓🐓🐓Today's Farm Prompt🐓🐓🐓🐓
MomentCam_20190207090758.gif

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-475-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-rooster

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope to be around much more! Thank you for the prompt delivery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22