5 Minute Freewrite Challenge Day 10 Splinter

in #freewrite7 years ago

fitinfun garage light explosion steemit.PNG

Splinter

That’s what my life did when I lost weight. I became a new person I never thought of – never imagined. I was a fat four year old and I never lost weight. I never was thin or dreamed of it. I just did not want to be fat anymore.

But then – here I was – thin! Ha! Ok now what?

Now I am in a splintered world – the sick and fat and ill - and the healthy. The sick ones are chasing dreams and potions and shots and surgeries and just sadly getting more sick and more fat. They are splintered into ideas of what to eat and how to eat and what not to eat as if someone else knows what’s good for them.

My idea is to eat what makes you feel better and don’t eat what does not. It’s trial and error. The problem is the additives that fool you with addiction and with illness so you can’t even recognize the damage they do as you eat them. So you can’t even try.

I just want people to eat a little bit better today. And plan for tomorrow and learn and keep at it. You can’t eat what I eat. You have to eat what’s best for you.

I must say this 20 times a month in weight loss groups. Sometimes people hear me. More people are listening and doing better. I have to take hope in this trend and help it continue.

My entry for #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. This is a challenge you should join if you like to write and need to get posting at steemit.

My photo is one I was lucky enough to find in a tough spot.

Nothing at fitinfun would be possible if I was still obese. Weight loss is not my life’s goal anymore and I am so grateful. Instead I enjoy new-found vigor.

#ThrowbackThursday fb fitinfun cliff.png

Sort:  

I think that eating what is good for you is not such an easy thing in the end. Many people live suffering and loosing their true selves due to an unfair and oppressing society. First of all, someone has to learn to love him or herself. If you don't love yourself, you won't live and eat well. But to love yourself you need to love others. It's not "easy" - forgive me for saying this, I understand that you passed a lot and I respect it - but self-destruction unfortunately is often embedded within the society in which we live.

I skip over the loving yourself part and just try to get nutrition into people. And also work on exercise, hydration and rest. Then their head clears a bit and they can think.

I find the foggy head of bad nutrition and habits gets in the way more than the emotional side. At this point - most people are not even aware of how poisonous the toxins are in the food they eat, so I go from that direction.

The shock of the wake-up call is what gets them going if not some type of near-death experience. Most of the time, I deal with people who have already cracked and broken. They are at the point they will try anything. Even eating healthy food!

Reaching up to catch a paraglider? I flew my hang glider at Torrey Pines in 1975, long before it was regulated.

So many people think of food as some sort of recreational activity and feel deprived if they cannot eat whatever they want whenever they want. Food is about fueling and building your body. Of course, eating is enjoyable, but that's an auxiliary function.

By limiting our food to things that nourish, we quickly learn to like and enjoy food that is good for us. Limit your sugar intake and suddenly nearly everything tastes sweet. Stop drinking soda and pretty soon plain old water is what you crave.

I never forced my kids to eat anything, but I made them try one bite of everything. They were always free to not eat what I put in front of them. If they wouldn't eat it they obviously weren't hungry so I didn't offer them anything else. No big deal and no whining allowed. Missing the occasional meal is good for you. I was raised that way and have never much fixated on food. My kids learned to like everything and both of them are now gourmet cooks. My grandkids are much the same. No chicken nuggets, no mac and cheese for dinner. It's not real food. Not hungry for broccoli tonight? That's okay, go outside and play. It'll be waiting for you when you come back inside. (unless I eat it first) :)

I'm on your page with the kids. 3 meals a day is over-rated anyway. I was lucky to have a healthy son who rejected junk food. He was so happy when i finally began to do the same. He used to beg me to make beets when he was a kid and never had a weight issue. He just had to take care of his obese and sick mom.

What I find works the best is to talk about adding nutrition, not removing anything. I absolutely agree with you on changing food from the "entertainment" category to the "survival" category. If people make small changes over time and get into one healthy habit a week and then continue - soon they will be rejecting the old garbage on their own.

I have found you cannot say the word "limit" to a fat person and expect results. I sure never worked for me back in the day.

I was a big diet soda drinker - it was all I drank for a long time. My mom was giving it to me as a child in horror over my huge self. She was thin and pretty and I was a fat 4 year old in the 1960's. I always drank diet and never regular. No one could tell me any different and I drank it from dawn to dusk and bought it by the case.

Soda was one of the last toxins I gave up out of my food supply in 2011. It took about 6 months, but those last few sips tasted like pure chemicals and I would never try another one now. I feel very grateful for that transition.

That is truly an amazing success story and a true exercise in will power; or maybe we should call that "won't" power.

Though I've never been into sodas myself, I have been around many soda addicts. I even knew a guy who drank so many Dr. Peppers a day that his spine was crumbling because the soda's phosphorous was displacing the calcium in his bones. He still didn't quit, had 5 back surgeries and ended up in a wheel chair. He's dead now. Incredible.

No doubt you are aware of the addictive qualities of glutamates and aspartates, and the damage they can do to you liver, so what you have accomplished is quite monumental.

It must be wonderful to now live in Thailand with its abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables everywhere and rice-based diets. I seldom shop at Western grocery stores and choose Persian, Korean, Chinese and Mexican whenever I can. Still have to read the labels, though. Try to make kombu with bonito flakes that don't have MSG. Impossible.

Yesterday, my comment to you was eaten by the powers of the internet which make us sad :( so glad you are doing this and I do think you will find that you get faster and faster. some days, it will be great, and others - not. But it is all good :) Today's prompt. https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-11-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-sleep

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49