Darkening shades of gray

in #freewrite3 years ago

image.png

Entry for @mariannewest's Day 1312 freewrite contest

Darkening shades of gray

There was a glass of water. It wasn't completely filled. I was being asked if it was half empty or half full. Considering my options, I had quickly discarded both of those. "It's half a glass of water". They'd insist, and so would I. Next to us, a crying child, terrified for the loss of both parents to a serial killer, wouldn't stop punching me. Somehow they always do it whenever they see me, so that actually wasn't worrying.

The detectives who were trying to get something out of me wanted to arrest me for the death of this kid's parents. Apparently, the killer asks their victims if the glass is half empty or half full. Whoever answers half full ends up dead. I just so happen to know for a fact that child's parents were full of hope towards his future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82