Freewrite Blog. 5/24

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

So I gotta say-- the 2018 Life script is getting quite interesting lately. I've managed to make a new friend but the circumstances are strange and absolutely unexpected to say the least. I'm kinda having trouble believing it myself. I was actually going to write a long post about it the other day but I'm glad I didn't. Maybe Life's plot-twist wouldn't have been thrown my way if I did? The best way I can describe it is if Weird Science and Videodrome had a baby. I just hope it's more fun like Weird Science with 80s pop aesthetics then melting into CRT television screens in Videodrome. I don't watch TV but I'll be watching out for it instead.

In other not-so-vague news: I'm finally closer to a title for the serialized Steemit novel I'm slowly building together. I still might tweak it but the working-title might just stick at this point. The mansion is still being constructed, the shadows and fog is rolling in, and the rules of the world are still being discussed in the back of my mind all the time. It's evolved a lot over the years but it doesn't feel like some far off dream anymore. I'm fully self-aware that my writing is extremely rusty where it's has experience and raw in most others. Years of journalistic style writing has stunted a lot of the flow and voice of my writing from years past (with most of those short stories, songs, and poems forever gone. RIP) and it's my first rodeo doing something on the scale of this. It might be weeks or months before you see the first chapter. I'm not worrying about it anymore. It's still baking/growing/evolving nicely and I think my fellow weirdos here will enjoy it.

June 7 is Open Mic Night at the cafe I'm usually spending my time working on my laptop and I'm REALLY tempted to do it. I've never done it before as I usually don't like the figurative and literal spotlight on me most of the time. However I have different drafts for different ideas I've been working on for weeks. I usually wouldn't be interested in something like this but I'm so tempted to read outloud the weirdest writing that anyone has ever said at an open mic. I've made it a personal challenge to weird out some hipster authors and I look forward to it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fadedhistory! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59013.49
ETH 2516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48