To Sleep (Freewrite Prompt: Grief)

in #freewrite6 years ago

This post was inspired by a nightmare I had a few nights ago, and I just couldn't get it out of my head so here we go!


I stared at the pills in my hand. Water. I need water.

Like a robot, I get and walk to the kitchen. Even this is hard. My head is foggy, my body heavy with a weight the outside viewer cannot see. This weight that controls me and causes my shoulders to slump ever so slightly. The invisible pressure that lays on my heart is too much to bare. It's been so long dealing with this feeling and not being able to sleep or even think, I don't quite know how else to make it stop. It's just for a few hours. Grabbing water, I take it back to my room.

Sitting on my bed, I avoid making eye contact with the photos of my family. They'd be disappointed if they found out, I know that for sure.

It's not a big deal, I just need to sleep. Sleep. My exhales become shaky. Sleep. Every time I close my eyes, its her. Sleep. I toss the pills in my mouth. I close my eyes and pictures and memories flash behind my eyelids and my heart begins to race. I miss her. My dreams are the only way that I can reach her now.

I need to sleep. Just for a little while, so the grief might pass me by. Just for a little while, so that I can be with her again.


Thanks to @mariannewest for this writing prompt.


Sort:  

Congratulations @emms! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nightmares can feel so real at times that you just can't let them go, like the one you had. Your description was written so well that I thought you were describing me after having one of those nightmares. I hope you are able to get some uninterrupted sleep now.

Resident cat here, wishing you pleasant dreams and delivering today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-300-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-towel

[Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite](https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/week-15-win-a-membership-in-steem-basic-income-tell-us-about-a-favorite-freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64