The Fire (Freewrite Prompt: Helpless)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I remember smoke.

Everywhere that I look, it filling my lungs with the poison as I try and breathe. The intoxicating dark clouds surround me as I attempt to escape the flames that nip at my soiled clothes. The red hot flames grow higher with every step I take. My eyes burn from the intense heat, my throat closes up on itself. Coughs rise from my mouth, however I can only hear wheezing in it's place and the crackling of burning wood. Pictures of my loved ones surround me in this hell and a photo of my mother becomes burry as I collapse to the ground. I have inhaled too much of the exhaust. I should have listened. I now pay the price. I have finally accepted that this is the end of the line. I am too far gone to bring back.

I rest on the charred carpet and await my death for I know that it will soon come. My sight worsens, I see only shapes and colors instead of the designs that were once painted across these familiar walls. I am comfortably numb as the warmth of the flames sooths me to my eternal sleep.The constant sting of flesh burning off of my throbbing body becomes something that I am used to, as the inferno hell that I am in nips around my weak figure. Almost as if it were dancing, as if my pain is amusing to them. If I don't suffocate from the smoke I will surely be burned alive. The flames pirouette around me, rising higher as their dance becomes more intense. My ears catch the sound of shouting in the distance but the only thing I can focus on is the warm, welcoming glow in front of me. Inviting me to join them in their dance.

I'm not sure what happens next. Has my body failed me? Did I pass out? The noises around me seems to all fade away to one, low hum. This is my last thought, only confirming what I already knew. I am helpless.

And then, all at once, the long awaited darkness consumes me.

Sort:  

Oh my! Such vivid imagery. When I was a child, and we had fire safety talks, I would spend hours thinking about the realities they described about being trapped in a burning house. Backdraft terrified me, but also fascinated me. I think this kind of helplessness is true hell. Well done, and way to frighten me again.

Thank you!! This comment mean a lot :) Thanks so much for stopping by!

My pleasure!

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

Wow, that was very intense writing! Scary, yet somehow profound. Welcome to freewriting!

Thank you!

This post has been upvoted by the Trojan Wall community.
We are a group of authors who support each other in our everyday struggle to get our posts noticed.
Currently we are searching for new members. If you are interested in joining us you can read the guidelines on our posts.
If you have any questions feel free to ask on our discord server: https://discord.gg/4YXdZVN
Stay strong, keep steeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00