Falling (Freewrite Prompt: Smooth As Silk)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I'm not sure when it happened. Falling in love, that is. I've never believed in all that love at first sight bullshit, but a part of me wonders if it was during the first encounter. Falling into those deep, blue grey eyes as I introduced myself. The eyes that reminded me so much of the sea after a storm. Reminded me so much of my fears of water but calming them all instantly. I found myself wanting stare into them forever, even if it meant drowning. The eyes that were too mature for their age, filled with happiness and sadness and everything in between.

Had it been the first time I heard that laugh? The one filled with so much happiness despite all ever looming sad story that the eyes spoke of? A laugh that made everyone in hearing distance turn and stare in awe. The one that made me hold my breath and curse the days when I went without it? I found myself trying so hard to come up with things to say and jokes to tell just so I could hear that laugh again and again and again.

Or was it the voice that accompanied this soul? The voice that was smooth as silk but also rough and raw when needed to be? The voice of all my encouragement and advice, the one that I could fall asleep to. The one that held so much kindness. It was the voice that you could fall for blindly. I could fall for that voice even with my eyes closed.

Maybe it had been when I was caught staring, or vice versa. When in that moment, I didn't care who was watching and I was just in awe of this beauty, in awe of this spirit, in awe that I was so lucky to have met them. I never believed I would fall in love. I thought it would be too hard and I was scared of crash landing. But they didn't make it hard. Falling in love was easy. Falling in love came suddenly, and I realized I would never be the same.


Thanks to @mariannewest for this wonderful freewrite!


Sort:  

Wow.... I am covered in goose bumps... Like... Damn... I have no words of how great of a writer you are

hey THANKS.

Very nice. I was like looking into those blue eyes and seeing a future. Thanks!

Here is today's prompt: Day 294: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: puzzle

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53