You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Marge at Large" Day 291 - 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: "Helpless"

in #freewrite6 years ago

Oh Yeah! Marge at Large! Well, people sure can be jerks some time, but I like Marge's perspective. I guess she put him through college and now gets the alimony, so as a 'business transaction' I guess it worked....

I am a true believer in marriage, in my own marriage at least. I work every day to make sure that this sort of stuff never happens to us. I think that's the key, work.

So when I read a great story like this (5 minutes, ha! I even have trouble believing 20, but okay, you are awesome either way ;p) it gets me in the squishy parts. There is a saying in Colombia, that a man will trade his wife of 40 for 2 at 20. Not my style! There is an intimacy that is important, but it must be built....

But if this were to happen to a person, a fresh can of spray paint and some ambition go a long way!

PS - thanks for including some links to your inspiration news story! Amazing, but I think I'm on her side :/

Sort:  

I hope most men are like you, not like Dr. Stupid, @ecoinstant! That intimacy you speak of is what sells in millions of romance novels. Why should it be exclusive to women's fiction? Men can write of love, not just the slam-bam-thankyou-ma'am stuff. You're right, 20 minutes was misleading. I typed from start to finish in 20 minutes, then revised, revised, revised. Someday I'll be honest enough to post the original rough draft, typos and all. Thanks for reading and commenting!

I thought it did seem fishy! I personally agonize over every semi colon and usually take many hours to finalize an article, only to spend another hour frantically editing the post! Now I do mostly videos, which I like because the whole process including recording, uploading and posting with description usually takes about an hour on the dot.

And we can hope! That more men (and women!) learn how to love themselves and each other, and that to build a lasting relationship takes work (oh so much work!) but that it is oh so worth it along the way and in the end.

The pleasure is mine Carol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81