Freewrite - Homo SapienssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

I'm doing some freewriting to get me warmed up for working on my novel, and I thought I'd share some of it with you here.
I pick a prompt then set the timer for 10 minutes and type away furiously

Most of you will be familiar with the 'rule' of just writing (or typing) the first thing that comes into your head
No thinking
No editing
Just get it down on the page
Stop! as soon as the timer hits zero
I'll share this and the next few posts as the words came out of me, so please excuse the typos and meandering
By now, you're probably used to that from me anyway
Do let me know if you'd prefer future posts to be edited - although that's against the spirit of freewriting
Anyway, here goes:
Here's the prompt:
A young husband arrives home soaked to the skin. He refuses to answer his wife’s questions.

McCallum, Chriss. 365 Short Story Ideas . Chriss McCallum. Kindle Edition.


“All you’re doing is grunting and monosyllables like you’ve been drinking. I’ve told you-“
He leapt up, pushed past her and burst / charged into the kitchen.
She stormed in after him, and shouted, “Pete says you dived into his pool and ate three of his prize Koi. He phoned to say he’s suing the pants off you, and reporting you to the RSPCA. What the-“
She gawped as he flung open the fridge door, grabbed a huge piece of steak and started devouring it raw.
She pushed him to oine side, grabbed a handful or raw burgers, scoffed them then grabbed hold of his head, kissed him hard and passionately, clamped her finger nails round his neck, bared her fangs, smiled triumphantly, and said, “about time you showed / revealed yourself at last. I thought you were destined to just carry on imitating these weak Homo Sapiens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55