5 Minute Freewrite Day 392: Be Gone

in #freewrite6 years ago

Source

For:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-392-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-be-gone

I don't know if I "cheated" by stretching the prompt this much, but the first thing that came to my mind when reading it was this song by Swiss singer and composer Anna Murphy. And hey, it even has -technically- the prompt in its title.


I woke up one morning and she wasn’t anywhere. My best friend of years, my anchor, wasn’t here anymore.

She left a note, simply saying “goodbye”, a word as short and bittersweet as it was dense. There was no need to say anything more, the time was right for her, and I’m alone when thing seemed to be going well. She’s not coming back, and her last gift is just doubt, everything else went away with her.

But what is lost is always replaced with something else, and someone new appeared. In the doorstep at the next dawn, singing a rhyme that collided with the morning sun. She poured some drinks, gave me one, stayed the night. Stayed all nights.

Alone with my new friend, I start to mock myself, and she sings is not right. And I don’t understand.

But one word she repeats between cups of tea, between grey dawns: woebegone. And I don’t know how to let go.

Sort:  

Brilliant! I think your freewrite for today sort of complements mine haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62