5 Minute Freewrite Day 388: Hamburger

in #freewrite6 years ago


Source

For: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-388-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-hamburger

I like to considered myself a strong man, with an iron will, or at least close to that, very few things could even make me look to the sides when a goal was set. But recently I learned the true meaning of the words “there is a first time for everything”.

It was a particularly rough morning, after a couple of miles running, after a night filled with thoughts about future projects. I was restless but with energy, a weird combination.
On the way back home, I passed by a new restaurant that I haven’t seen before. I knew of it existence, sure, but since it represented the junk food culture I despise, I had been avoiding it. But today for some reason the new route I took made me be just in front of it.

I was paralyzed. In all its greasy glory, trough big glass windows, the supreme temptation presented itself to me. A scientific mystery or powerful black magic, I didn’t know and didn’t care, because the defenses of my will were breached.

It was early morning, but here in my hands was the embodiment of those teenage years of bullying and social isolation. I had a triple cheeseburger as breakfast, and my life felt complete, no guilt attached.

Sort:  

Great photograph.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68297.87
ETH 3746.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67