Weekend Freewrite - Original Photography

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

hanging hat.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

Prompt 1
“I like hats.” That's what Donald said before he killed Sally. “That's what you said to me , Sally. You said you liked hats. If that's the case, why are you not wearing the beautiful hat I bought you for your birthday? Why is it still hanging on the coat rack in the hall? Honestly Sally , I just can't figure you out!”

Sally glowered at him with her smoke-gray eyes as she accused him of never listening to what she said. “I said that I did not like hats, Donald. Why do you always get things wrong? In fact, I said that I would rather be seen dead than be seen wearing a hat. Does that sound like someone who likes hats?”

Donald shrugged it off. He just couldn't win with Sally. There was no pleasing the woman, and she was always accusing him of not listening to her. She'd rather be seen dead, huh? He could see to that!

“The woman is insane,” he muttered under his breath just loud enough for Sally to hear him.

“Insane? Who are you calling insane? You are pathetic, Donald! How did I ever fall in love with you?"

Prompt 2
She found him in the Terminal Bar and Grill. He was sober for a change. She knew that's where she would find him after that stupid argument about a hat. He always ran off there when he was upset – like a puppy with his tail between his legs! The place was not so crowded as usual, but then it was a Tuesday night. Most decent men were at home with their wives discussing the details of their busy days. But here was Donald propped up on a bar stool looking like something the cat brought home. He was nursing a Scotch on the rocks, but he had barely touched it. There was a faraway look in his eyes, as if they were somehow detached from his body and visiting faraway lands known only to him.

Prompt 3
…..the time he caught a flyball! That was it! That's what he was thinking about when Sally walked in. Life was so much simpler then. He remembered it oh, so well. The Red Sox were playing the Yankees when a flyball came right at him and knocked him out! Knocked him out? Wait, a minute! Didn't he catch it? He thought he did. Now he was confused. Very confused! He was in a seedy bar drinking Scotch on the rocks after having a silly argument with his beloved Sally? An argument about a hat. About a hat he bought! But wait a minute, he had never bought Sally a hat. She hated hats!

“Donald! Donald! Wake up! You've been sleeping in that chair for over an hour. Dinner is ready!”

Thanks to @mariannewest for creating the #freewrite challenge. You can read about today's challenge here

The image used is one of my own stock images on Getty

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

Upvote and Resteem.jpg

To check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

Sort:  

That was a wonderful story! I loved the ending. You handled the prompts beautifully! Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome! I had no idea where it was going - of course! LOL! You could see my mind scrambling after the last prompt. At first I thought he was going to have a brain injury and then kill her, but somehow it all changed in a split second! It was fun!

I love it, and I love how we both decided that Donald drinks scotch on the rocks!

Was a natural for me. Lol!

That's a great twist to have him be dreaming. Awesome flow!

Thanks! I used the timer precisely too!

Haha you have skillfully put in the third prompt well into the story @dmcamera. I have become very obsessed with that part :P

I don't know much about sports, so my brain panicked for a bit till I remembered my kids' baseball games!

Haha cool. I had no idea how to put it in too but somehow scraped by, I guess :P

It was certainly a good exercise in writing. I have never followed 3 prompts like that before.

Look at you bringing it to a benign ending :) Love your picture!! Today's is a visual prompt :) https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-24-5-minute-freewrite . Let me know if you ever want to allow us to use one of your pictures.....

Haha! I guess my mind is not a violent one, so doesn't think in terms of murder or killing, not even when free writing!! It's doing well as a post too! That's a pleasant surprise!

I will check your promp just as I am ready to write, so won't look now to spoil the fun!

Glad you liked the picture. I had to hunt on a backup drive to find it. I vow to go in and keyword all my work, as since I joined Steemit, I'm always searching for stuff hidden away!

I could give you permission for shots that are not with stock agencies. They are picky about that. I would not want to get into trouble with them. Lol!

For sure. We don't want trouble! If you come across one you think makes a good prompt - would you send it to me? I am on discord or you can send the link to my email to keep things a surprise for everyone else :) [email protected]

Ok. Will do! Sent you an email so that you have mine too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54