Toothache: Freewrite Challenge

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians! This is my response to this #freewrite challenge:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-71-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-toothache

Poverty and Toothaches

At the end of this story, there is a government link to help you find low-cost dental treatment in the USA. Thanks!


Picture source: Pixabay

Mae West: Love conquers all things except poverty and toothaches.

I learned once again what I'd already known. Saving a few bucks on regular checkups and cleanings is no kind of frugal decision. At first, I could manage the pain by avoiding anything too hot, too cold, or too acidic. As the days passed, chewing on an aspiring or rinsing my mouth out with salt water even stopped helping. Instead of enjoying the pleasure of tasty food, I began to fear it.

Yes, I had a toothache.

My friend had retired from nursing 10 years ago, so being the closest accessible thing to a doctor or dentist, I asked her what to do. She told me that the infection could travel to my heart and squish my life out like a bug under a shoe. You see, I didn't fear the dentist; however, I feared the billing lady in the dentist's office. I had some kind of crappy dental "Insurance" that mostly covered nothing serious.

I assured my ex-nurse friend that I'd take care of it right away. She promised to call and check on me to be certain that I really did. I waited. I woke in the night unable to ignore the pain. My aspirin bottle was empty. The next morning, I called for an appointment.

Yup, the Dentist Needed to Pull the Tooth

So, you see, the tooth was a lost cause. Pulling the tooth would only cost about $100, but then I faced the prospect of having a big gap-tooth smile. The very cheapest way the dentist could solve my vanity problem was with a bridge. Even with my crappy insurance, it would be over TWO GRAND. Oh, crap.

Yeah, I know people are supposed to have an emergency fund for, well, emergencies. But see, I had just needed new tires and a car battery. I had, however, been saving money on groceries since food had not given me much pleasure for weeks. The kindly lady at the billing office told me I could split payments up with each visit, so I agreed. I had to get this tooth pulled and somehow replaced.

The Antibiotic Gave Me Spots!

I had been taking penicillin or derivatives my entire life. I never had a reaction to them, but I did this time. Yes, the medicine eased the infection to keep my teeth from hurting, but it covered me in itchy spots after taking it for a few days. At least my tooth did not hurt any longer, but now my body had a rash that was not polite to scratch in public.

I'm Poorer and Better Now

The ordeal did end. After three visits, my rash went away, and my new bridge feels better than my old tooth did! The dentist and my ex-nurse friend told me not to ever take penicillin again.

Anyway, it was a big struggle for me physically, mentally, and financially. I feel sorry for people who are worse off than me and don't have the resources to find dentists.

The Moral to This Story; Find Low-Cost Dental Care at Dental Schools

If you need help affording a dentist, you may be able to get low-cost dental treatment at a dental school. Here is a link for people in the U.S. from the Department of Health and Human Services: https://www.hhs.gov/answers/health-care/where-can-i-find-low-cost-dental-care/index.html

Please seek care before you have a #toothache!

Sort:  

Thanks, I hope you're better now. It was a good story AND a good PSA!

Good story, good tip. I have a friend who always goes to dental school to get work done. I still go to a old school dentist that only charges me $37 for a cleaning and he does all the work himself. I see him twice a year now. Happy New Year 🎉

I've had to do this too many times. Being broke and needing a tooth pulled/fixed really sucks, but thankfully this is an option. I wish they did bridges at an affordable cost now, because a missing tooth costs around $3,000.00 to "hide" with a bridge. :/

Yes, it's expensive. Also, dentists used to be nicer about accepting payments. They probably got burned too many times, so the best they would do was split out the total into payments at each visit.

Being poor sucks all the way around - not just for dental care. Healthcare in general, is the privilege of the those with at least a little bit of money.
when I had cancer - even with insurance - I ended up pretty much in bancruptcy.... and that is a common story.

Here are your weekend options

15 min 3 prompt exercise
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-30-2017-part-1-the-first-sentence

Or single prompt option
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-20-2017-single-prompt-option

we have crappy insurance too......I feel for you in more ways than one!!!

so happy you got it fixed tho

Thanks, no dental insurance here at all, fortunately, I have been blessed with good strong teeth, so far. 😉

Nice job! Sorry that you had to go through all of that (even having a reaction to the antibiotics, you poor guy)!
Oh boy have I been there. Where you're pacing all night long because laying down hurts worse. Where you're looking at pliers thinking, "It can't possibly hurt worse than this. .."
There is a health care clinic near my village that takes people with little or no income, but the only problem is is that they can only accept about 50 patients a day and the spots fill up quickly. Sometimes you'll end up taking a day off and standing in line just to find out that they met patient capacity and you'd have to try again tomorrow.
Nice addition with adding the link!

Yes, it's tough to afford good dental care here. When your tooth hurts, you get pretty focused on just that an nothing else.

In the UK, the dentist is free for children but you have to pay as an adult. If you are out of work, then you can get it done for nothing.

Here in the US, insurance that follows the Obamacare rules has to include dental insurance for kids (still not free), but there's nothing like that for adults. Some people may have very good dental coverage from work, but most dental insurance only fully pays for preventative care. If you need something major, you will pay. For lots of us, affording dental is tougher than affording medical care.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @digitalmutt to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43