Trapped: a five minute freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago


IMG_20181022_140631193 (1).jpg

Her agonising scream rang out echoing off the age-old trees surrounding her as the trap snapped shut with a bone-wrenching clang. Her frantic efforts to break free, to shake it off, thrashing and biting at it, resulted only in the trap cutting ever deeper into her tender flesh. And then with no other hope of escape and as if realising her vulnerability to anyone that came along, she began to gnaw desperately at her trapped paw, finally amputating it, and with blood streaming, leaving a scarlet trail behind her she limped off as best she could to return to her cubs.


Posted in response to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge which you can see here

The image is my own and is dedicated to @janton

Sort:  

The pain is real and I felt every second of it. Poor thing.

Sorry sweetie, I didn't mean to upset the resident cat;)

I think I will let it slide...this time. : )
I will see you at the same place, same time. I am on the bottom. Who knows where we will meet. See ya then partner!

okidok m'dear, I will meet you somewhere near the middle;)

That much agony. And with the difficult
choice she had to make, she's a tough one. Well it happens.

I guess we never realise just how tough we are until we're really up against it.
Thanks for reading.

I like it, Because I can believe it's happened (unfortunately, probably even as we speak).
Probably off topic, but it kind makes me think of a rare personal conversation I had in work today about my own writing.
I was told there's big money & followings to be garnered in work akin to one of my more positive pieces.
My co-worker was kind of shocked when I explained I don't always feel like that & writing"dark" can be as equally enjoyable/fulfilling. Makes me think.
Anyway, well done.

Cheers, thanks. I do try to write upbeat little stories but somehow the darkness seems to descend the moment I put pen to paper.

That happens to way too many animals!!

Thanks for the visit Marianne.

Of course!! Always love to visit you!!
I know that you are not super fond of discord, but we have a freewrite House discord now. More for organizing than anything else. There is an encourager room. If you like to join, here is an invite https://discord.gg/edrfEwY

Thanks Marianne. I joined;)

You pulled at my heart strings with this write @deirdyweirdy ...well written.

Cheers. I appreciate the feedback.

lol! Wow deirdyweirdy, this is amazing. A world class thriller written in one paragraph accompanied by a world class piece of artwork all in one post!

Only you could pull off such a feat and thank you so much for the high honor of receiving such a dedication!

Oh Mr J, 'tis true you are my muse but I still know flattery when it hits me in the face;)

I have no idea what you're talking about, I'm just stating the facts! lol.

Bonechilling.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but your words are worth a thousand pictures. Bravo Deirdy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Seems you have quite the way with words yourself sweetie!

I always admire those who are able to put someone before them to this extent....even if it s an animal
I hope I am never in a situation where I have to make that choice
Let's see what you have with this next prompt :)

Here it is:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-367-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-face-mask

There’s some fun as well as rewards waiting for you, so please do head on over to the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for the delivery m'dear.

poor doggie 😥
nicely written @deirdyweirdy 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75