Rules: A 5 minute free write

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20180805_160938855_HDR (1).jpg

I’ve never been much good with authority figures, at bending to the will of people ‘in charge’
Even as a kid I would always expect an explanation as to why I should obey orders. The ‘because I say so’ line just didn’t do it for me. This was likely down to the absence of parental authority at home where we were left very much to our own devices, both my parents spending most of their waking hours intoxicated, though in his more sober moments my father would tell us never to tell the truth to authorities. 'Never reveal and always conceal the secrets of the brotherhood’ he would say.

We were very independent kids who looked after each other. Even letters from school requiring signatures wouldn’t reach my parents but would be dealt with by my older brother. I don’t think you’d get away with that these days when everyone and his dog seems to want to stick their noses into things which don’t concern them.

I realised at an early age that I could never work for anyone else as I couldn’t take orders but neither could I give them, so I ended up with several rather successful businesses run on the basis of rules but no rulers, the one rule being that you get the job done without shafting anyone. I have to say it worked like a dream.

Do we really need so many regulations to protect us from ourselves? I mean who knows better than I do what's good for me?

Posted in response to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. The prompt word today is CHARGE
Image is my own

Sort:  

deirdyweirdy

I apologize, but I will express my thoughts. We have our own approach to this problem. I can not translate poetry.
The meaning of the phrase is that to serve and obey is pleasant. When there is a personality which can be served and obeyed.
If there is no such person, then it is disgusting to serve a lackey.

In the rest everything is baking. Although you are fortunate enough to create several businesses, but I know what the path of a single person is. When each project is based on you, the most unsteady building. It is enough to destroy the creator and any project will fly.

As a result, there are many people who call you a friend. There are units whom you trust and you can call a friend. But you have to create and drag projects in one person. Many envy lonely wolves. The image of a lone wolf excites the imagination of madmen. That's just how many lonely people die before they reach the summit. Other loners on this summit are ready to howl from loneliness.

Forever alone, even among hundreds of people.

A lone wolf is cool!
But this is so sonny hard!
You own the world.
And do not stand in the world of anything!

You had to grow up at a young age and I am so proud of you. Your life could have easily gone the other way.

Yes indeed. Luckily I had a hard head and a stubborn streak;)

Oh wow! What a childhood and in a weird way it's raised you to be someone you can be proud of...
I had a tough childhood too, but its made me what I am today, and it's all good..

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Here's your next prompt:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-312-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-election

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Yes indeed, no complaints here. We were neglected but never beaten or anything like that.
Thanks for the very prompt delivery.

howdy there deirdyweirdy! ha! you had a hard head and s stubborn streak?? I never would have guess that in a million years! lol.
this was a great freewrite. would've taken me an hour to come up with something so good!

I doubt that m'dear. You definitely have the gift of the gab!

oh..well...I don't know about that, it depends on the subject and who I'm talking to but even if I thought of something it would take me a long time to get it down on one understandable story. Creative writing is alot more difficult than commenting, at least for me!

The free write is a sort of stream of consciousness exercise. You get a prompt word daily from @mariannewest, set a timer and just write for 5 minutes on whatever comes into your head.

oh ok well I DO know who she is so that makes sense, she suggested that I do that and I said maybe someday.

Jeepers, you've scratched at some really good points there now... People these days really are hellbent on minding other peoples business, and we have become inundated with red tape from all angles... It's a wonder we can take a sh1t without a licence, if you'll excuse my French :o)

We used to have a wonderful ethos here of minding your own damned business and avoiding authorities at all costs. Now people seem to want to squeal on their neighbour for the least little thing. When did that happen?
As for red tape, you can't even volunteer as a dog walker anymore without a clearance certificate from the effin Gards. Give me strength !

@deirdyweirdy Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Congratulations @deirdyweirdy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85