Five minute free write: Prompt; MUSIC

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Like almost everyone else I’ve always loved music and it has seen me through some of the most difficult patches in my life.

The radio was always on in our house, to cover the noise of my parents arguing I think, and my father always sang along. The first song I remember him singing was the Beatles, ‘Yesterday.’ Not understanding that it was a song, I thought he was singing his life and I remember worrying that perhaps I was the source of his troubles….yesterday all my troubles seemed so far away, now it looks as though they’re here to stay.

This was the 1960s when record players were not common, in fact, I remember us getting our first record player in the 1970s and our first single which was Jim Reeves singing ‘But you love me daddy’ which we played morning noon and night.

I started a punk band when I was in school and we played around Ireland for a few years which was enormous fun. We were legends in our own lunchtime and the height of our fame was supporting The Outcasts at Dublin’s premier music venue, McGonagles.
Here is our entry in the Irish Punk and New wave Discography......just so you're aware what an illustrious personage I really am.
https://www.irishrock.org/irodb/bands/ofxerox.html

Screen Shot 2018-10-02 at 14.08.20.png

posted in response to @mariannewest's five-minute free write challenge which you can see here

Sort:  

That is so freaking awesome - the fact that you were in a band :O I love punk and guitars, although I have no chance at ever playing one :D How cool of you!!

Thanks Hon, I'm nothing if not cool;)

True that <3

You're full of surprises! That must have been a fun time!

Definitely the best time of my life..........so far!

Wow! You played in McGonagles!! That is very cool @deirdyweirdy

Even cooler than that, we got a review in Hotpress which was headed 'Of Xerox and zeros'. Of Xerox was us and the zeros were The Outcasts, a Belfast band who were quite famous at the time. Good times!

What about THE THREAT coming to see you perform and leaving after the support act (YOU). Where they not bigger than The Outcasts?

It was actually the Virgin Prunes who used to come to see us and then leave. We did a few gigs with the Threat, one of which ended in us being chased out of Limerick by the Gardai!

Thank YOU for the Witness vote.

Highly appreciated.

You're very welcome. According to @shepz1 you're a good skin and I trust his judgement.

I will go check out @shepz1 to give my respect and thankful.

Cheers for now.

What a lovely, adventurous life you are living. Thanks for sharing this little slice of it, and also for your taking the time to read and upvote my poem today, Melancholy. Cheers!

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.608 which ranks you at #5487 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 5485).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey Partner! I have been thinking of you. : )
I still can't get on discord. I guess I will have to open a new account?
Just wanted to let you know that I am here...ready, willing and able. I am on top this week and I will catcha in the middle. Have a good one.

No worries on the discord front.....worked up from the bottom and have done up to and including improv. Cya next time my esteemed partner.

And the dust blows in the wind...once again! Have a good one my friend! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49