Day 90: 5 Minute Freewrite Wednesday- Prompt: Children

in #freewrite7 years ago

IMG_20180117_210417478 (1).jpg

I have nothing but admiration for people who have children, well, perhaps mixed with a little incredulity when they have more than one. When I walk down the corridor in the apartment block where I live, hearing behind every door a mewling infant, I can’t help but wonder how the hell parents stick the constant noise and marvel at the strength of the biological urge to reproduce.

I knew very early on that I had no desire to breed, though many told me I would change my mind when I got older. At the tender age of 4 years and 8 months, I watched through the keyhole of my mother’s room the horrific scene of my younger brother’s birth; the piercing screams and the blood something I have never forgotten and most certainly not something I could ever volunteer for myself.

======================================
This is a 5 minute freewrite for Wednesday 17th January a challenge by @mariannewest which you can see here
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-90-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-children

Image is my own

Sort:  

It sounds like you had a very traumatic childhood. And having kids is not for everyone. Actually, I think a lot of people have kids even though they don't really want them - but they somehow think that is what a person does...
Thank you for visiting the freewriters today...

Indeed, some people should never be parents.

I really enjoy visiting the other freewriters. In fact, FOMO means that I tend to visit every day.

As a doctor, I've seen a lot of births and while it may be horrific, the pain, blood, the tears... I still would love to have one or two but what gets me dazed is realizing there are people who would love to have 6 of them. Sometimes I think them crazy, other days I feel they skip the part with the screaming, blood and noise and focus on the lighter parts of parenthood. Fantastic post

Cheers for the sweet comment and continued support.

...though many told me I would change my mind when I got older.

I've never understood why it is that people say this. I suppose it's often meant in a nice way, but...I don't know, it's just always kind of rubbed me the wrong way.

Anyway, great post!

Me too! Thanks for the support.

Well, I grew up in a family of 8 people...I'm the older of three brothers and three sisters. I think my parents are crazy... I never wanted to have children, it's enough like that!
My partner got two sons from her previous marriage, I'm not the father but sometimes I take his place...but when I'm tired I can go away! :P

Well I guess you have the best of both worlds then!

I'm with you, that's why all my babies take ammo. Good job on this prompt and thanks for stopping by to read mine.

Hahaha, I think I'll have to get me some of dem babies!

We are supposed to be a modern society/world, but somehow there is still some kind of stigma for people who don't feel that breeding is something they want to do. It's supposed to be one of our higher callings or something.

Worst of all, most of the time, it's mainly the wrong people that are breeding. There is currently a story going around Bulgaria about a single mother of 3 with a fourth on the way who is being evicted. I surely understand that everybody can fall on a rough patch of financial hardship, but why on Earth are you pregnant with a fourth one if you obviously can't properly look after the 3 you have.

Absolutely spot on. Couldn't have put it better myself.

Wow. What a powerful post. That sounds like it was very traumatic for you! I have many many friends who do not want to have children (some of my own children aren't sure they want to have kids, either) and I think that is perfectly fine. I don't think people should have kids unless they DO really really know that they want them!

I am constantly astounded to hear from my childfree friends how they are harassed about not wanting to have kids... because I was always harassed about the fact that I did want kids!

Great writing, very emotionally evocative.

Today I am helping @mariannewest out and leaving the link to today’s #freewrite prompt! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-91-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-board

A thousand thanks for the positive feedback. Much appreciated.

Enjoyable read. Thanks for sharing.

And your picture was awesome.

Cheers, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63