5 minute freewrite day 176. Prompt: Curry

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

20180414_141649 (1).jpg

I’ve never had a curry. We just didn’t do curry in our house growing up. My paternal grandfather was in the British Army stationed in India, or so the story went. Apparently after having curry every day for 3 years, he vowed never to eat it again and banned it from the house, which apparently instilled in my father a lifelong aversion to even the smell of it.

Of course you couldn’t believe a word my father said. He was a habitual liar and often boasted that he never let the truth get in the way of a good story. He’d always tell you whatever he thought you wanted to hear or whatever would provoke a reaction, depending on his mood. His tales were often taller than himself and he was a good 6ft 3inches.

Myself I’ve always regarded curry as something the lads get in the takeaway after 20 pints on a Saturday night, before throwing up in some doorway, so I’ve never felt the inclination to indulge.

burritos20171130_ (1) (1).jpg

And while we’re on the subject of strange, stinking, unpalatable foods, there’s a sudden epidemic of burrito shops popping up on every corner in Dublin. Weirder still, there are queues outside. What’s with that? Has to be Rent-a-crowd.

=============
Posted in response to the 5 minute free write challenge by @mariannewest which you can see
here

Images are my own

Sort:  

This is so funny!!

Rent-a-crowd probably used for "crisis events" around the world

Your burrito epidemic reminds me of the "Kebab War" that happened in Germany mid 2005 . Apparently the price of the kebab went down and every one threw sandwiches at each other in the streets of Berlin .

Maybe I am just making this up for the sake of a good story !

Your Father reminds me of Tim Burito...Tim Burton's Big Fish!

The Kebab Wars, yeah I remember it well. There was concern at the time that it might spread causing a Europe-wide sandwich shortage.
Happily, until today I'd not heard of the Big Fish film, and when I viewed the trailer I understand why;)

the weirdest thing in the movie is Ewan Mcgregor's accent

Haha, yeah, poor guy. The only accent he can do convincingly is the Scottish one.

I haven't watched Trainspotting 2 yet! Thanks for reminding me of it somehow

HaHa! Your father sounds like quite the handful...or should I say mouthful?
Burritos are everywhere and nobody can make me eat them either!

Oh fantastic, Another one on my team. I am terribly afraid that this proliferation of burrito shops is part of some dystopian new world order.

Thank you so much for being a freewrite encourager!!

Ah sure it's often the most exciting part of my week!
Besides, I think it's a great initiative and very helpful to newbie bloggers like myself who haven't an inkling what to be writing about.

That is good to hear. You know that you were the first who jumped on the call for help and I think that we have a team visiting all the freewriters makes a huge difference for everyone. It really helps to create community!! (marianne)

At least I have *some *claim to fame!
I agree with you entirely, it makes for great, contagious community spirit and ensures no one is left with "nul points"

HAHAHAHA! I know all about NWO and I am in tears laughing so hard at your comment. You are hurting my face!!! ROFLMAO!!! Welcome to dystopia DW!

You had me laughing when describing your father's penchant to

Never let the truth get in the way of a good story.

Personally I love curry, though I've only been able to try a few. Burritos are tasty as well but too many places use cheap tinned re-fried beans instead of making them in house. Now you've me thinking of who I'd have to call to rent a crowd. I could have a lot of fun with that! 😁

Some of the young gremlins of the town of Freewrite have been kind enough to volunteer to deliver today's prompts! Please be advised, they have silly string and have eaten their way through a basket of Pixie Stix.

Weekend Freewrite 4/14/18 - Single Prompt Option

Weekend Freewrite 4/14/18 - Part 1 - The First Sentence

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

His little truth maxim made him a highly entertaining individual but decidedly untrustworthy, possibly not a good trade-off in a parent but it made for an interesting childhood.

Thanks for reading.

Try a Pathia, or if you are heat-averse, a Balti - at a proper curry house. Gorgeous, the food of kings, sweet but oh so savoury :)

Curry is one of those things that you have to be forced into, in a way. Like olives. Or anchovies on pizza. I can understand why someone would never try one if they never had one bought for them.

Many thanks for your kind advice but 'tis a very strong man who could force me into curry, pizza or evil olives come to that. On the subject of anchovies I have nothing to offer.
Cheers for the visit.

Ha ha, I love your stories @deirdyweirdy I can really associate with them.. I do love a curry mind you!! I was blind to them for years, it was my English wife who introduced me to Indian curries... All I knew was Chinese curry or Supermacs curry before that :o) My favorite now is a Thai red curry, if you've never had one, you should give it a try!! And I love Burritos too!! :o) :o)

I think I'd rather stick with the blindness and get a white cane!

Ah, Supermacs, well, they will always hold a place in my heart. When I first gave up meat in the early 80s I'd no idea what to eat and lived for some considerable time on veggie burgers from Supermacs.

Ah brilliant, for me it's the snackbox or smoky bacon burger meal! As a Galwayman, I'd have to love Supermacs :o)

The more I learn about your dad, the more I love him XD

strange, stinking, unpalatable

Yes, it's a strange stinky thing, but my palate loves it, especially in the winter. Gotta be a social activity though. If you don't join in, your comrades' breath will hurt you.

Yum

SIGNATURE.png

Well the offer is still on the table. All I need is the postal address;)

As for Curry, perhaps I'll place it on my bucket list.........at the very end!

hahah thanks Deirdyweirdy. I'm sure a crazy Dubliner will be at home in Liverpool :P

Lol, bucket list dregs XD

It's the young people wanting to eat food with fancy names, just to feel cool, that's all. :)

Better than tide pods I suppose;)

Lol I can't say I could blame him. Everyday for even a year would be way too much. I wondered the same thing with the burritos. And there are now food trucks all over the place too.

Oh so it's a worldwide burrito explosion. That's um, eh......comforting. I thought it was some peculiar Dublin disease. I saw a queue last week with at least 50 people on it. I just find it hard to believe people would queue for burritos.

Lol, yeah I don't get it either. Maybe it is because they can get a bunch of stuff shoved into a tortilla, and eat it utensil free? Some are very yummy and filling, but I don't eat from them as I am very picky where my food comes from. Heard too many stories of food illnesses from some. We don't eat at fast food chains either, unless on a trip.

Wise call. Cheapest ingredients for maximum profit. Why would you want to?

Lol yep and I wonder if these food trucks even have food handler permits. I mean, who checks them once they buy the trucks? Who inspects the interior for cleanliness? Gag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76