Happy thoughts - a weekend freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

cabin.jpg

Thanks again to @mariannewest for the free write prompts. As always, I wrote and published with no editing so please forgive any mistakes and whatnot's :-) Enjoy

As I feared. I was stiffer than a two-by-two as I rousted myself off the porch and climbed into the truck. My destination-Wilde’s tavern, I only how the coffee is as strong as the brew. The hike to the Wilde’s resort proved to further than I First anticipated. But what did I expect? The paper said in bold letters - Wilde’s resort, a a remote and isolated getaway - no matter, I thought of the isolation more as a perk then anything. What writers doesn’t want a small private lake cabin to get away for a few weeks.

I sat down on the table and ordered a meal. There were a few other guests. The scene reminded me of a horror flick I once watched where the entire town feed off of tourists. Still I remained hopeful that Wilde’s was nothing more then a small tavern on the edge on the lake where fisherman told tales and swapped tackle and how to bait stories.

What kind of fodder is that for a writer. So when I overheard two of these gents chatting away I decided to jot down some notes, you know, as inspiration. It was not until I had returned to my cabin that I actually read what I wrote. And to the day I still don’t believe a word of it, even thought I know it all to be true as the morning sunrise.

It stared out as a classic story of the deep. You know, that monster the rises out- that kind of thing. Anyways this story came with a twist. A reversal if you will. You see people just assume that the deep is the water or a well. They never take the time to understand whats between the lies.

The deep is more of an awaking. A new consciousness. An manifestation of what the mind feels into what the body becomes. As a writer, my mind wonder all over the place, but here and now I though only of that horror flick. Thats when the first knock rapped on the door. Followed by the front window and then the bedroom window and finally the breaking of the kitchen window.

I doubt I will survive this so let me leave you with this parting thought. If your ever finding yourself at Wilde’s resort in Disdain MN- be sure to think happy thoughts- maybe a musical.

Sort:  

what a beautiful picture and amazing story

Thanks, I never know where these freewrite are going to take me. I'm always amazed at where the story goes

Good, if your stories carry you in unanticipated directions, it means you are giving free rein to your creativity.

However, if you do not take pride in what you produce, you cannot evolve and grow. Excusing yourself by saying you did not edit is not good enough. There are so many mistakes it actually spoils the story.

You still have time for editing (the edit button disappears once you are out of time). Please correct it, just so that people only see the best you can do.

This is a freewrite exercise - not a finished story. It might turn into one someday. But for now, it is an exercise. No writer needs to be ashamed of showing their process to the world. The idea of always needing to show only polished work is a thing of the past.
Today's audience craves to see reality - to see that there is a process. In the freewrite community - we don't judge. We encourage.

I am sure to think happy thoughts - especially there!!! Love the twist you finished the story with!

Hoping that you are having a wonderful weekend (or beginning of the week - whatever the case might be :)

I am here to bring you the newest prompt

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44