Day 88: 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: stranded on the sofa like whales with a plankton's indigestion

in #freewrite7 years ago

Giphy.com
.
.

My Dog Susie Q is still a puppy, and she is getting into everything and making messes everywhere. I keep my slippers beside the bed so that I don't have to step on the cold floor when I get up, last night I got up to go to the bathroom and they were wet! Not cool Susie! She tore up a page out of my term paper, I had taken it to the printers to get a high-quality print out on bonded paper. Now what am I going to do, tell my Professor that my dog ate my term paper? I either print a new page on my printer that will be different from all of the other pages, or I go back to the printer and have them reprint it.

I can't leave anything lying around where she can reach it, edible or not, if she can swallow it then it's headed for her tummy. I bought a party size bag of potato chips yesterday and left them on the kitchen table, of course they fell off. I found a couple of pieces of the bag when I got home from school, I'm guessing I'll find the rest of it tomorrow when I take her for a walk. It will certainly give new meaning to the slogan "Ruffles have Ridges."

Today was too much though, Susie got under my 100 gal fish tank and found the huge box of fish food that should have lasted me for a year. When I got home and found her she was splayed out on her stomach near the tank, pieces of the box and flakes of fish food scattered about. Susie had eaten so much that she could no longer walk, in fact, her back bowed when she tried and her belly dragged on the floor. She was whining and whimpering so I couldn't get mad or scold her. I put her up on the sofa and called the Veterinarian's office. Just keep her hydrated and watch her they said, it will pass. It will pass all right but I was going to have to find a safe place to put her for when it did. The poor dear, I was mad at her and felt bad for her all at the same time. Hanging up the phone and looking over at Susie wallowing around I couldn't help but think, That's what you get for misbehaving Susie Q, look at you now, stranded on the sofa like whales with a plankton's indigestion. It serves you right girl, but don't worry, we are going to get through this thing together. It's you and me sister, and right now I'm going to the garage and getting your crate ready because you're certainly not sleeping in the bed with me tonight.

.
.
.
**Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.
.
Graphics by: Giphy.com
Footer by the fabulous: @topkpop
.
.

Prompt: stranded on the sofa like whales with a plankton's indigestion
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Introduction to freewrite

Thank you @mariannewest

topkpop

Sort:  

Aww poor little baby! This was such a good story! Thanks for sharing. It pays to avoid the fish food for a pup!

I loved this story :D it was written with a light mood and clipped along really great :D I finished reading it and am smiling :D thank you :D

This was so cute and a fun read. I would have put her in the crate too..."and this too shall pass!" LOL! : )

I hope Suzy Q grows out of it. Years ago I had a boxer called Bessis who ate everything her whole life. The only thing that made her ill was an old cycle battery in the days they had acid in them.

Ooh what a mischevious little Susie! I do adore this little story and you could totally feel the annoyance but then love that the character had for the dog. Very enjoyable.

This wonderful post has been featured

in the latest edition of Memos.
Do stop in and see what
the rest of your family is up to!
Memos #thealliance syndicates.png

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37