Day 67: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: feet soft as fog

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Giphy.com

Bart lay back on the lilypad gazing up at the stars totally satisfied with the wonderful evening that he had so much enjoyed. The moon had set about an hour ago but he could still visualize her beautiful figure dancing about, carefree, and on feet soft as the fog that was just beginning to rise above the translucent water. Having been with the uber petite Priscilla tonight was like a dream come true, the Princess of the pond and she had been his for one enchanting evening. Glancing over at the reeds he could just make out the line of eggs like tiny pearls intertwined among the tall majestic stalks in synchronistic splendor. He would certainly be beaming with pride to see that group of tadpoles mucking it up and darting about along the bottom of the pond. He knew that he should sleep, tomorrow he would need to catch a lot of flies and build his strength back up. Tomorrow Hilda would be back in the rotation, no lilypad was going to hold her up, and there would certainly be no light-footed dancing going on. He would be lucky if all the splashing and thrashing about didn't attract Joe Moccasin's attention! How terrible it would be to get eaten now, just when the young females had finally started hopping around. Soon more of them would come in search of his crooning basso profundo voice that tonight had proven to be so irresistible. Yes, he had way too many dreams to fulfill to allow Joe to catch him doing his duty to save the planet, Hilda might just have to wait a little while. Ha, if she gets desperate and starts calling out for him maybe Joe will find her, that would be perfect because he wouldn't have to eat again for a week! Imagine, a whole week of no worries right when all of these babes are becoming eligible, I better get some sleep!

The Song:
Froggy Went A Courtin'

.
Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.
.
Graphic by: Giphy.com
.
.

Prompt: feet soft as fog
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Thank you @mariannewest

Sort:  

You got a 3.62% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @deaconlee!

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

I loved it, no creepy cockroaches in this story. I think this was my hardest prompt, course I just started writing last week. @mariannewest is the bomb. Back to sleep I go...

A great little story. He is going to have a fine old time with those lady frogs if all goes to plan. Love the graphic you chose too :)

This post has been included in the latest issue of 'Memos'. Stop in and see what else your family is up to :)

Hi Deacon! I loved to be in the mind of a frog, you managed to create such a vivid world and the flow of Bart are so similar to those of us in one of those peaceful moments of satisfaction and harmony with the cosmos. Well done, imagination and creativity at its best :-)

You have such a gift. Your stories pretty much always leave a huge smile on my face.

I have voted myself down so much, I want to vote for you, but I will try to remember to come back tomorrow when I'm back up to full steem :)

Thank you for sharing your sweet happy frog (or toad) romantic story!

I'm SO SO happy you are back!!! I hope your Christmas was wonderful and you got everything done.

Your stories always blow me away!! this frog GiF matched your story to perfection. I also will not ever look at a frog the same way LOLLLL was this a horny toad? :D

Great short story my friend, and such great way of writing and I love that frog. Amazing imagination and you made me smile 😉😆
Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful holiday and Merry Christmas!

Love the satisfied grinning frog story. Men are men 😜 LOL
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-68-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pillow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15