Day 29: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: great-grandpa's nose

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)


Dwight Koslowski, 2002 from fotki.com public domain

... After tying up the guard and medic back to back, gagging them, and locking the door behind me I quickly made my way down the corridor carrying the medics bag with me. A close inspection would give me away, but I was hoping to stay in the less traveled areas and shadows until I could find a way out of the compound. The first thing I would have to do was make it out of this prison, and I had no idea what lay ahead of me. Arriving at the corner I looked down at the magazine now lying in the chair, good guess I thought as I glimpsed the cover and then peered around the corner. Ahead there was a short flight of steps and a small landing at the entry way. The door apparently led to the outside because it had a small six inch by ten inch window in it from which I could see sunlight streaming in. At the landing I looked through the window out over a courtyard, could it be that there were no other guards? Well why not I thought, after the severe blow to the head that I had taken they may have thought that I wouldn't recover at all. This was definitely not a normal prison compound anyway, this was only a place where they brought high profile dissidents and political types for questioning and a little re-education.

Gazing out I began to recall the satellite photos, maps and drawings from the mission briefing. Unbelievable I thought, my targets office and living quarters was almost directly across that courtyard! So the computer with the vital information on it and the successful completion of my mission was only a fifty foot walk, a five minute download, and an escape route away. Should I chance it or just save my hide and blame the mission failure on the boys upstairs and the poor intel that I had received? That's when I noticed the staff car parked in the space between the buildings right beside where I needed to be to complete the mission. That made my mind up, a way out of here and the completion of the mission right there in view, and I was already crossing the courtyard at a saunter.

No one was in sight within thirty feet so I glanced at the 1942 Desoto as I neared the building, that thing had a hood ornament on it that reminded me of my great grandpa's nose, A heavy drinking hard charging WW I fighting man in his day. That car looked just like something that he would have owned too, big and cantankerous. I was hoping to find a key handy, but if not I could hot wire that baby in less than sixty seconds, but I would sure hate to do any damage to such a beauty as that. I don't know how she got here, but I was wishing that I could take her home with me. Home...better stop daydreaming and complete this mission or my home is going to be a shallow grave in a nearby field...

Disclaimer: I spend more than the five minutes on my entries.

Prompt: great-grandpa's nose
Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post

Sort:  

OMG! I couldn't read fast enough; the suspense was killing me. Then I did a big belly laugh when I read about the hood ornament and how it reminded you of the prompt. Hilarious! Can't wait to read part 4! You are so talented! Tip!

Thank you so much for the kind tip! I'm getting in to the story now also, I can't wait to find out what happens next myself lol. But we'll just have to wait on that next prompt to find out what direction this story takes. 😎

I loved your description of the car.. "cantankerous" ..simply great!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I was in complete suspense on two levels. One, because your story is just so - must keep reading... and then, waiting to see how in the world you will fit the prompt in. Love it!! have to start to look for self-publishing info for you :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-30-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-a-special-occasion

Awesome, now I'm even more excited to get started on today's prompt! 😊

Excellent write and how fascinating... I love how you worked the prompt so effortlessly.

The weird thing is that a hood ornament was the first thing that popped into my mind so I decided to go with it, but it took forever to find a public domain photo. 😀

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 50.0% @davidding upgoat, thanks to @deaconlee
It consists of $4.26 vote and $0.28 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deaconlee to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00