Day 146: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: monkey

in #freewrite7 years ago

799px-Monkey_wrench_derivative_from_Rogers_1903_p172.png

My Dad had several Monkey wrenches in his toolboxes, and it was my favorite tool of all as a kid. From the time that I was old enough to take directions, dad would send me from wherever he was working to the tool shed for whatever he needed for the task at hand. I never walked or loitered on these errands, it was implied that the need was urgent and that daylight was wasting so I raced all the way there, sometimes on from the far end of our twenty-acre farm, and all of the way back with the required item. It didn't take me long to learn the names of each tool because if I returned with the wrong thing I got a scolding look and was sent back until I got it right.

To me, the monkey wrench was a magnificent and beautiful tool if I ever saw one. The one in the above graphic has the typical wooden handle from the late 1800's to early 1900's, the wrenches that we had were in perfect conditioned and the wood had been stained dark brown from years of continuous coats of grease and oil. They were perfect for the square headed nuts and bolts often found on older farm equipment, and the stationary head of the wrench was often used as a light duty hammer. Most of these wrenches in my Dad's collection had originally been included with the toolkits on the Ford Model A vehicles. What a great invention that still lives on to this day! I have to wonder how many people have been whacked in the head by one of these things that were often sitting on top of a toolbox or workbench within easy reach when a fight might break out.

.
.
.
**Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.

Graphic From Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository

Over 20 Club Graphic by the ever so talented @fireawaymarmot and personalized for me by @snook
Old' Steem by the most wonderful @snook
.
.
Prompt: monkey

Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Introduction to freewrite

Thank you @mariannewest

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Exciting things are on the horizon, visit the Freewritehouse to find out more!

Sort:  

Perfect way to learn. On the job training with a lot of exercise. I sure hope nobody got whacked on the head...oh, my aching head! : )

I think there was a lot of head whacking going on...
I love that tools were made that they lasted forever. there is a trend of young people buying old tools - because they are the best!

Some of those older monkey wrenches carry a hefty price tag. I'm always on the lookout for old tools. Great story.

My dad had lots of manual tools too. It was fun to handle them and try to use them. I can identify with the mini-deaconlee :)

Its a nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84