Day 129: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: fingernail

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

170620-M-YG378-120.JPG
.
.
When stationed onboard a Fast Attack Nuclear Submarine I often worked with heavy equipment and tools. One day I was doing a job and managed to smash one of my fingers, the top of a fingernail taking most of the blow. It did not break the skin or break any bones it just hurt really bad. I was able to finish working my shift, then I went forward to birthing, took a quick shower and tried to get some sleep. It was not long before I woke up with my finger throbbing with pain. Looking it over I couldn't find anything wrong with it except a bruise under the nail, so I tried to go back to sleep. Soon I was back up and it was really hurting badly now, so I went to find the Corpsman that was stationed on the Sub. Most of the Corpsman that I had met were strange characters, even stranger than me which was saying something, so I never really trusted them all that much and never went to visit one unless the need was great. It might seem like a little thing and a bit silly, but every time my heart would beat that pain was getting worse. By the time that I found the doc I was getting desperate, so he walked me back to his office and shut the door.

For a young sailor what happened next was simply amazing. Doc pulled a paperclip out of a desk drawer along with a cigarette lighter. He put an absorbent pad on a stainless steel table top and told me to rest my finger on it nail up, then he bent a prong out on the paperclip and proceeded heat it up red hot with the lighter. As he brought the now glowing end of the paperclip over the top of the bruise on my nail he said, this will make it feel a lot better. The hot tip burned a neat little hole through my nail which shot out a burst of blood, then it was over. I never even felt the heat and with the pressure released there was no more pain. It was amazing that such a big problem for me could be cured with such simple surgery. Needless to say that I gained a new respect for the doc and Corpsman in general, although I still preferred making my own repairs when possible.

Over the years I have used this trick several times, and every time that I do I remember that kid getting worked on by those often unsung heroes. U.S. Navy Corpsman, you hope that you never need one but when you do you sure are glad that they are around. God bless every one of them!

.
.
**Disclaimer: I often use the freewrite prompt to tell a story instead of doing a pure freewrite, so they sometimes take longer than 5 minutes and usually have some editing. But I try to do my story straight through at one sitting without any unnecessary breaks.
.

Public Domain photo By Lance Cpl. Joseph Sorci

Over 20 Club Graphic by the ever so talented @fireawaymarmot and personalized for me by @snook
Old' Steem by the most wonderful @snook
Footer by the truly fabulous: @topkpop
.
.
Prompt: fingernail

Set your timer for 5 minutes.
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)
Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.
Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.
If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Introduction to freewrite

Thank you @mariannewest

topkpop

Sort:  

Yes, that works. It is weird to feel the hot metal pass through the nail but it feels so much better. Good tale brother. Peace.

Such compelling gratitude! And as always, heart compelled. Thanks @deaconlee.

Meanwhile, @mariannewest just released another powerful delicacy, and i have the honor of serving it: Today's prompt:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-130-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-wasps

Suffice to say I will not be trying that myself.

What a great story!!! I love reading you Sub storys. Thanks for sharing!! but I don't think I would have let them poke a paperclip in me. Just saying loll

Those sort of remedies are really great to know. No drugs or machinery involved. I wouldn't have the courage to do it though. I bet people you helped were grateful to you :)

That really is a cool idea , you've got rid of your pain without and painkillers , if taken that would result to some side effect . I bet you wouldn't sleep with that pain , thanks for the doc . Another good write @deaconlee :)

God bless you too @deaconlee for a career dedicated to protect the others. This story was very interesting and makes me happy of all the variety of experiences and people that you can find in this community!

You are very senior in steem, and I am very junior, I need help from you and I really appreciate it @weykarma

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63