5 minute Freewrite - Irritation

in #freewrite6 years ago

This is my first time participating in the 5 minute Freewrite by @mariannewest, and I have decided to ignore my inner voice and just go for it. I enjoy writing poetry but rarely share any of it, so this is different for me, hope you enjoy it!

The prompt for today is Irritation

On a warm and humid day,
When from the heat I can’t get away

I take a shower to cool my skin
But the waters hot, I just can’t win

I lay myself down and I try to rest
If I don’t move at all, that would be best

The fan is on high right in front of me
But wait, oh no, this cannot be

I open my eyes and everything has gone still
The power is out. Did I pay the bill?

At least it is quiet, I will be able to rest
But my neighbors lawn mower puts me to the test

I close my eyes, and refuse to rise
Maybe I’ll fall asleep, and forget my demise

I dream I am drinking an ice cold beer
But I am awoken, by the mosquito buzzing in my ear

I am about as irritated as I can get
I decide this is a day I want to forget

I can take no more, and am about to scream
If one more thing happens I’ll burst at the seams

I take a second and I look around,
The power is back , and the sun has gone down

I see now, It will be all right
I smile and I say, to all a goodnight!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

That was indeed an irritating day!! Welcome to the freewriters!! We are happy that you gave it a try!!

Thank you, I have to admit I enjoyed writing it very much.

This is such a fabulous piece of Poetry, I love it. I'm so happy you found our #freewrite community. 💕

I'm not going Postal, just delivering today's prompt 📬

Webp.net-compress-image__1540446451_75.1.212.152.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-384-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-small-talk

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

thats is some free write you are gooddddd!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81