Prompt Of The Day “The Big Freeze” - What Remained Beneath The Ice!

in #freewrite6 years ago

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/d00k13-prompt-of-the-day-the-big-freeze-what-remained-beneath-the-ice-ab94ptfg-1547008041709.jpg

It was a year to remember, 1996 year of “The Big Freeze” and the most snow I have ever seen in British Columbia, Canada 🇨🇦.

Nothing says fun like having snow up to your hips for the first time in your life. It rained that evening, slushed actually still half frozen it stung the face. Waking in the morning to discover it was the coldest night ever just about all the exposed snow was frozen.

Key word, exposed!!! The snow under the ice layer was just fine and I experienced making tunnels under the ice for the first time also!

This year has other meanings to most, such as the inability to drive anywhere unless you have 4x4 & chains. First and only time I seen ATV’s driven into town on main roads 😅

All I really remember clearly was the disappointment in the morning returning to joy after punching through and discovering what remained beneath the ice!

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

46903C31-E7B4-48EB-9602-FAB49290FE62.gif

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

its really was too much freeze thanks for remember me that was long time ago

Thanks for stopping in, preying for another year like that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am witnessing one of the biggest snowfalls ever in my city this moment that I write this comment.
Snow rules

Snow does rule! Sad thing we haven’t had any this year 🤦‍♂️ how deep is it there?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not much around 30cm but we don't see snow often here

Posted using Partiko Android

Well be sure to enjoy it for me then, that’s more than enough to have some fun!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fuck,it started raining hard after the snowfall yesterday.The town is a mess.No fun for me.

Happily we don’t get much snow but we did have one big freeze many years ago when I was a kid and I remember it well.
It’s the promptest of prompt delivery services here with your challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-446-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-happy

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for the delivery 💪

Do you remember was that the 1996 year? We haven’t had a year like that here since! My father always talked about his childhood and always having 3+ feet of snow as normal, wish I had more winters like that to remember! Sledding off the roof would have been an interesting experience 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was actually in Dec 1981/Jan 1982. I remember the paths in the city centre were so frozen that the army had to be called out to clear them.

Yea my father told me once just a few years before I was born was the biggest fall he has ever seen, would have been an experience to see the army out clearing roads 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44