Prompt of the day “Irritiation” - This Matter Overcomes My Mind

in #freewrite6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-prompt-of-the-day-irritiation--this-matter-overcomes-my-mind-mxm3c7pz-1541608026846.png

Why is it a reflex to continue to scratch something that is already irritated when all your really doing is furthering the irritation?

I remember when I had chicken pox, lathered with chamomile lotion and forced to wear oven mitts going to bed just so I would not scratch. My parents had to keep reminding me throughout the day not to irritate the sores any further but I remember thinking “why is it so itchy if I am not supposed to scratch it?”

It’s a reflex I understand that, done to remove dead skin from your epidermis. I still wonder why the reflex is so pronounced when dealing with things that scratching does not really help rather only furthering the irritation. Something like a chemical burn I have experienced at work from lye used on the pretzel buns, it drives you up the wall at first with being itchy but I dare you to scratch it and find out how much it will begin to burn. The only solution is to rinse the area with something acidic as lye is basic and will be neutralized. If you had scratched the area first prepare yourself for the ride of you life because it will be 10x worse feeling then if you hadn’t.

Even acne which feels good to scratch really shouldn’t be touched at all as the bacteria which causes the irritation is likely to spread causing further outbreaks and irritation. I have tried so many times to wait out the sensation of wanting to scratch but this seems to cause further irritation, not of the skin but of the mind. It starts as a dull barely noticeable thing but the longer you try not to scratch the more intense it seems to get. When it finally reaches that point of being unbearable being the only thing I can focus on I always give in. I find the irritation of the skin is bearable compared to the nagging irritation of the mind when trying to ignore the reflex to scratch.

I have come to assume that this is some type of challenge, a test of your will power. Mind over matter as some would say but when the physical irritation is much easier to endure then the mental counterpart having any mind left is definitely a challenge.

62C26B05-4B5D-4866-AB02-9F94F1923B12.gif

Even just sitting here thinking of scratching makes me itchy all over, ignoring it is becoming unbearable. Screw it I’m scratching despite knowing I’ll only be furthering the irritation, this matter overcomes my mind.

Dragging You Up With Me

Ask Me Anything Contest Week 10

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Lol. Its always fun to see ur post. U always have something interesting in ur post. Now, is ur photo 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Aha thanks, it’s my thing serious in context but the images have their own story 😅

I like to make a fool of myself 🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

It what makes u more interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

So I was already interesting, good to know 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Arrgggh, I am itching from head to toe! I swear it is all your fault! ;)

Lmfao I guess I’m not surprised my writing would have such a profound effect 😝 even I was starting to get so itchy while trying to write about it... mind of mattered myself right into scratching!

Posted using Partiko iOS

So true!! Why do we have this overpowering need to scratch when it is so bad in the long run!!

Are you still baking pretzels? I love the texture and have tried to make some in the past. But now, I hardly ever eat bread...

I think it’s one of those things that used to serve a purpose in nomad days but something we have not been able to overcome with just evolution.

Well they are pretzel buns, basically just a super rich bun treated with lye for the dark colour effect and taste. I have been moved off the bun line into bread so I don’t do them personally but they are one of the top selling products we produce. Not the easiest product to make by any means so many steps. I imagine pretzels being even more complicated with having to shape them and the dough being that much stiffer just adds to the complication if taking the lye treatment method.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a terrific scratching story & gif.

I'm not going Postal, just delivering today's prompt 📬

Webp.net-compress-image__1540446451_75.1.212.152.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-384-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-small-talk

Lmao you can go postal all you want my friend, raise some awareness for this marvellous project 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hola, me encantó tu publicación, en serio que eres creativo. Soy nueva y eres uno de mis primeros comentarios. Auxilio! Necesito seguidores.

Just keep commenting and posting you will get there eventually 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50