Soundcheck: 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

Tension filled the dingy backroom where they were gathered. Walls shaking the mold from the paint as loud music reverberated through the door.

Shane was thrown in a black ragged armchair, original colour unknown. Drumsticks twirling in hand lost to the world around him.

The faint smell of weed from his t shirt probably the reason why.

Eoin looked to the other corner where David was strumming his guitar with a nervous energy. Plucking out each cord softly and subconsciously in a habit formed from years of practice.
And they should be nervous.
This was it. No soundcheck, no practice, it was do or die.
The winner of the contest would receive a full record deal with Mirage.

The music died down from the other end of the club only to be replaced with screams and voices. The last band must have been good. It was easy to tell straight after. Looking one last time at his group, he tried to stand on shaky legs, knowing that it might never happen again. Never get this chance again.

If that was the case them nothing was going to be left behind. They would come back with their shield or on it....

An entry to the 5 minute freewrite by @mariannewest, promp soundcheck. All votes, comments, critiques welcome. Leave a comment and let me know.

Sort:  

This makes me wish that I had been born with some musical talent, at the same time it makes me glad that I was not born with such talent lol. Even if I were the best drummer, best guitarist or had the best voice of any lead singer in the world, I would never have fit into such a lifestyle as what most musicians seek. It is attractive to me momentarily until I look down the road and count the cost, then I happily return to my wonderfully untalented life as a simple family man lol. Of course you never really know what you would do if the temptation doesn't exist and the offer of fortune and fame is never extended, so I have to wonder what I would really do if faced with such a choice. 🤔 😎

I wish that I had some as well. Instead I will struggle away with writing and try to improve that craft instead. I will always however love music and songwriting. I think that I could survive the lifestyle, bring me back to my college days.
As you say, I'm sure the temptation would be great if it was in front of you.

First off, yay for your name! My children like this show, Skylanders - based off of the video game, and Crookshanks is the best character! Great story about a band's time to do or die!

Today I am Marianne's specially programmed robotic delivery squirrel. I'm scampering through the freewriters, bringing our lady's next creative prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-85-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-corn

Thanks for all the work that you are putting in. I've never hear of skylanders myself. Crookshanks is the cat from Harry potter, which I love. Kind of went from that angle.

Mold? What a place. Well...did they win? The suspense! : )

They did but it all ended in tragedy a few years later after the band fell apart and the lead singer od on heroin. Sad.

That is sad. Those dam drugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50