You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Editing Our Own Fiction - "How To" Books - How Not be a DNF

Ugh, I am sixty, and I can totally relate, and then some.

At least you're actually working on your novel!!! I keep telling myself I'll get back to mine, after all, I only started researching it in 1995, but to date . . . though I occasionally flesh out a new scene . . . I've yet to really go back and reread what I've written to date.

Which might be a good thing. My story takes place on (at least) two timelines, aka "then" and "now," and my initial go round with NaNoWriMo saw me complete roughly 35,000 words of the "then" timeline.

I'm currently editing a three-volume nonfiction ebook series, and I keep telling myself that, once they're done and released, then I'll turn my efforts toward finally finishing the novel that has been keeping my obsession alive for all these years.

But then my ego kicks into high gear, by which I mean my basic overriding fear of being seen, and I remind myself yet again that my "real" talent is nonfiction, and who do I think I am to buck that?

The good thing is that torturing my characters is essentially built into the events against which I've set my story, so at this point I basically have to lock myself in a room for a month, and bang out the rest of the story.

Easier said than done. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63